A picture of Karie White

Karie White
Career Counselor and
College of Humanities, Arts, Behavioral
and Social Sciences (CHABSS) Liaison
760-750-4897
kwhite@csusm.edu

About Karie

My role at CSU San Marcos

As a career counselor, my goal is to help students learn about themselves, their interests, personality, skills and abilities. I help them translate this knowledge into choosing a major, and exploring and pursing specific career paths. I enjoy helping students translate their skills and experience into a professional looking resume and a dynamic cover letter capturing their enthusiasm for why they are applying for a job. I also enjoy helping students polish their interview skills and answers to be confident in selling themselves to an employer.

My career path

I graduated from the University of the Pacific with a degree in Liberal Studies and an emphasis in Special Education…after changing my major four times!  After teaching elementary school for a year, I decided my true interest was in counseling and helping people in small group settings.  I decided at that point to go on for my Master of Arts degree in Counseling with an emphasis in Career Development from the University of San Diego.   Since earning my Master’s degree, I have worked at various public and private, two year and four year universities helping students with their own career development. 

The rewards in doing what I do

I love helping students go from ‘how am I ever going to figure out where to start and what to major in’ to ‘I’ve figured out not only my major but careers I want to pursue too!’ I also enjoy seeing students write a really dynamic cover letter and resume, especially when they thought they didn’t have anything to put on them.

My words of wisdom to students

Get out there and experience and try new things….even once!  You may learn things about yourself you never knew. These experiences will help you grow as a person and learn who you truly are and what truly makes you happy.  Get a part time job, an internship, volunteer, join a club or organization, meet new people, or study abroad.  Get to know yourself and have fun in the process.

In my free time

I enjoy spending time with my husband and little boy, as well as decorating and organizing our home.  I like to hike. I also enjoy watching all types of sports, especially football (I’m a huge Denver Broncos fan).