Board Members

We at Center ARTES are grateful to be in collaboration with the many talented, generous, innovative thinkers and doers throughout San Diego County who make up our Executive and Advisory Boards. Our work could not be accomplished without their persistent support and participation. Board members, many thanks for your efforts!

Executive Board

Our executive board members work together closely to define and evaluate long-range goals and planning strategies. These folks are often our greatest supporters, frequently going above and beyond the call in order to expand Center ARTES' reach and connectedness throughout our communities. Members include:

  • Dr. Merryl Goldberg* Founder and Executive Director
  • Rosita Botto-Hieb
  • LaVerne Briggs
  • Vivian Doering
  • Greg Evans
  • Catherine Goldsmith
  • Frances Hunter
  • Ruth Mangrum
  • Jamie Nelson
  • Elsie Weston

Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board members are notable San Diego County artists, educators, and education administrators. They meet and share their extensive experience in the field of arts education, creating clear, specific, measurable goals for ensuring an equitable arts education for all San Diego County students. The combined knowledge and experience of our Advisory Board members makes Center ARTES a significant force in organizing and advancing arts education. Members include:

  • Fran Chadwick,* College of Education
  • Karen Evans, San Diego Schools
  • Jennifer Jeffries,* CSUSM Administrator
  • Lynne Jennings, San Diego Guild of Puppetry
  • Ron Jessee, San Diego County Office of Education
  • Cecelia Kouma, Playwrights Project
  • Tomoko Kuta, California Center for the Arts, Escondido
  • Marcos Martinez,* Theater Professor
  • Patti Saraniero, Arts Researcher
  • Roberta Wells-Famula, The Old Globe
  • Laura Wendling,* College of Education

* Denotes Cal State San Marcos Faculty

Center ARTES logo, Puddles the dog drawing the phrase