Information For

Honors, Awards and Grants

Honors, Awards, & Grants Archive

Bonnie Bade (Professor, Anthropology) submitted "CSUSM Community Ethnobotony Garden" to the California Higher Education Sustainability Award on March 7, 2014.

Fredi Avalos (Lecturer, Communication) was selected as a Fall 2013 Civility Champion.

Sharon Elise (Professor, Sociology) was awarded the 2013-14 President's Award for Inclusive Excellence and Diversity.

Laura Makey (Lecturer, Liberal Studies) was awarded the 2013-14 President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Outstanding Lecturer.

Merryl Goldberg (Professor, Visual & Performing Arts) was awarded the 2013-14 President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching Innovation & Excellence. 

Terri Metzger (Lecturer, Communication) was nominated for the President's Award for Inclusive Excellence and Diversity.

Elizabeth Matthews (Associate Professor, Political Science) was awarded the 2013-14 Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Award.

Dawn Formo (Associate Professor, Literature and Writing Studies) and Laurie Stowell (Professor, Literature and Writing Studies) received an NCHEA Grant. "Aligning for Success in Writing." This project is in partnership with Mira Costa and Palomar College, our high school colleagues, and the North County Professional Development Federation. 

Vivienne Bennett (Professor, Liberal Studies) was named to the board of the International Boundary and Water Commission.

Mary Jo Poole (Lecturer, Sociology) presented at Boston College, Institute for the Study and Promotion of Race and Culture, 13th Annual Diversity Challenge.  She presented with Michelle Jacob, Ph. D., Professor at Heritage University and University, San Diego (CSUSM M.A.S.P. alumni as well).  Their presentation was based on Dr. Jacob’s research and was titled, What Helps American Indians Succeed in Health Interventions? In support of this presentation, she applied for and was awarded a $500 grant from CSUSM Social Justice and Equity Project.  As part of this award, she will be presenting on this experience Friday, April 25th, at the Faculty Center Teaching Expo.

Terri Metzger (Lecturer, Communication) has been accepted as a member of the Diversity and Multicultural Learning Community.