Information For

Native Advisory Council

The President’s Native Advisory Council is comprised of representatives from most neighboring tribes and tribal education leaders, this first-in-the-CSU advisory council advises the President on University relations with the regional Native American communities and articulates the educational needs of local tribal nations to the University.
    • Alan Barrett, Viejas Band of Kumeyaay Indians
    • Bonnie Biggs, CSUSM Professor Emeritus
    • Patricia Dixon, Palomar College
    • Corrina Garbani, Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians
    • Geneva Lofton-Fitzsimmons, Indian Health Council, Inc.
    • Carmen Mojado, San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians
    • Rebecca Munoa, CSUSM Alumna
    • Cheri Myron, American Indian Chamber of Commerce
    • Lorraine Orosco, San Pasqual Band of Mission Indians
    • Amara Siva, Los Coyotes Band of Mission Indians
    • Hunwut Turner, Rincon Band of Luiseño Indians
    • Karlene Vernaci-Clifford, La Jolla Band of Luiseño Indians

    CSUSM Members:

    • Dawn Formo, Associate Dean, College of Humanities, Arts, Behaviorial and Social Sciences
    • Karen S. Haynes, President 
    • Jan Jackson, AVP Community Engagement
    • Joely Proudfit, Director of Native American Academic Strategic Planning
    • Tishmall Turner, Tribal Liaison
    • Theresa Gregor, Iipay Nation of Santa Ysabel