Information For


Visit our Facebook for a growing selection of images related to our students, faculty, research and events.

Media Mentions

Algae Study Could Unlock Huge Potential
UT San Diego | June 18, 2013
A international team of scientists led by California State University San Marcos has sequenced the genomes for 14 strains of a ubiquitous algae, paving the way for potential breakthroughs in everything from dentistry to orthopedics to control of a key greenhouse gas.

Science Spurs Boom at CSU San Marcos

UT San Diego | June 15, 2013
Cal State San Marcos will gain about 500 students this fall, pushing the campus past 11,000 for the first time and extending a period of growth that's largely being fueled by students seeking jobs in science, technology and health. 

Scientists to Explore from Arctic to Jungles
UT San Diego | May 5, 2013
Passports will take a beating this summer among the county’s huge scientific research community. Scholars from SDSU to UCSD to CSUSM are preparing to travel the globe. They will explore subjects as varied as water quality in Uganda to tuberculosis in Brazil to religious issues in Germany.

Summer Scholars

Congratulations to our... ViaSat Summer Scholars: Gretchen Ascher, Nathaniel Avalos, Laura Walters, Chelsea Engels, AJ Westergren (all Biological Sciences), Daniel Munoz (CHEM), Kevin Novak (CSIS), Madison Perry and Felix Ramos (PHYS); Goldsmith Summer Scholars: Angeline Puranen, Dennis Zheng, Sidney Vincent, Jacob Parsons, Cian Carota, and Chris Wendling (all CSIS); and Gormally Summer Scholars: Edgar Segovia and Louis Magallon (PHYS).

New Service Learning Director from CSM

Congratulations to Dr. Bianca R. Mothé, Professor of Biological Sciences and Coordinator for the Biotechnology Program, who has been appointed as the Service Learning faculty director, effective July 1. Dr. Mothé is currently working with two community partners, San Marcos Elementary School and Twin Oaks Elementary School, on a service learning/volunteer project focused on STEM. CSUSM students participated in service learning/volunteer activities with 900 elementary school children from these schools. Please visit the Office of Community Service Learning for more information and get involved.