Certificate - Reading

Literacy Education offers students a collection of courses that they can take to earn an advanced credential approved by the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing: a state issued Reading Certificate and/or a state issued Reading/Language Arts Specialist Credential.  See more information at Literacy Education.

The Reading Certificate authorizes teachers to provide services at the grade levels allowed by their prerequisite teaching credential to assess student reading, to provide reading instruction in response to those assessments, to develop, implement and adapt the reading content curriculum and assist classroom teachers in these areas in one or more school sites.  It is intended for educators interested in positions in the areas of reading, writing, and curriculum, like literacy coaches, Title I teachers, and Reading Resource teachers.

The Reading Certificate requires a valid teaching credential, obtained prior to coursework, AND three (3) years of successful full-time teaching experience, which can be obtained while completing coursework.

Required courses for the Reading Certificate* (18 units)

  • EDUC 606
  • EDUC 610
  • EDUC 613
  • EDUC 614A
  • EDUC 614B
  • EDUC 616

*This program is approved by the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing

Important Information

MA Brochure

Literacy Planning Sheet

For additional information:
CEHHS Student Services