CSUSM Teacher-candidates are learning the best classroom practices and teaching concepts from exemplary K-12 educators in our region as part of the DTiR program.

Regina Anderson, Distinguished Teacher in Residence

Regina Anderson, DTiR 2013-2015
Solana Beach School District

Victor Vega - Distinguished Teacher in Residence

Victor Vega, DTiR 2014-2016
Vista Unified Schol District

The Distinguished Teacher in Residence (DTiR) program at Cal State San Marcos evolved out of a mutual desire for local school districts to be directly involved in teacher preparation at the university and the faculty's desire to remain closely connected with schools.  The DTiR program has helped create and maintain important linkages between public schools in North San Diego County and Cal State San Marcos.


  1. Establish and maintain a close connection between teacher education and exemplary school practice by ensuring that new teachers prepared by CSUSM are well grounded in current concepts of teacher roles, instructional pedagogy and effective schools as practiced in model area schools; and
  2. Providing opportunities for CSUSM faculty to work with participating school districts on collaborative school improvement projects.

These objectives are met through:

  1. DTiR Applicant Selection
  2. DTiR Assigned Time Grants

K-12 Districts interested in joining the DTiR Program or would like further information about joining, please contact Melinda Jones at 760-750-4300 or mjones@csusm.edu.

Inquiries about Distinguished Teacher selection process or Assigned Time Grant process, contact Melinda Jones at 760-750-4300 or mjones@csusm.edu.

DTiR Consortium District Members

Carlsbad Unified School District Poway Unified School District
Escondido Union High School District San Marcos Unified School District
Escondido Union School District Solana Beach School District
Oceanside Unified School District Vista Unified School District

Distinguished Teacher in Residence
"Hall of Fame"

Distinguished Teacher School District Years Served
Linda Stone (Chick) San Marcos Unified 1991-1993
Karen Higby Ramona Unified 1991-1993
Karen Burke Vista Unified 1993-1995
Antonette ‘Toni’ Hood Cardiff 1993-1995
Patricia Christopher Valley Center Union 1993-1996
Jamie Supinger Crowley Solana Beach 1994-1996
Julie Harris Poway Unified 1995-1997
Joyce O'jibway Jennings SDCOE - JCCS 1995-1997
Deborah Costa-Hernandez Escondido Union 1996-1998
Cathy Bullock Encinitas Union 1996-1998
Maureen Reilly Lorimer Murrieta Valley Unified 1996-1998
Sandy Jenkins Fallbrook Union Elementary 1997-1999
Mary Lee Huntington Carlsbad Unified 1997-1999
Klaaje 'Kate' Johnson Valley Center Union 1997-1999
Vikki Ensman (Weissman) Fallbrook Union High 1998-2000
Michelle Mullen San Dieguito Union 1998-2000
David Mackintosh Escondido Union  1998-2000
Carolyn Marcus Fallbrook Union Elementary 1999-2001
Tay Cooper Vista Unified 1999-2001
Charlotte Krietzer (Frambaugh) Oceanside Unified 1999-2001
Dennis Masur Poway Unified 2000-2002
Nancy Dome SDCOE - JCCS 2000-2002
Dean Schulz** San Diego Unified 2000-2002
Pamela Barger Del Mar Union 2001-2003
Dave Reynolds Ramona Unified 2001-2003
Mary Lou Schultz Encinitas Union 2001-2003
Jamie Gurken Escondido Union 2002-2004
Jill Seidenverg (Halaska) San Dieguito Union 2002-2004
Erika Daniels (Seeman) Oceanside Unified 2002-2004
Caroline Geldard San Marcos Unified 2003-2005
Pat Beal Murrieta Unified 2003-2005
Melinda Martin Temecula Valley Unified 2003-2005
Beth Mudd Solana Beach 2004-2006
William DeJean Poway Unified 2004-2006
Jan Christinson Carlsbad Unified 2004-2006
Susan Ritchie Vista Unified 2005-2007
Jeffrey Heil SDCOE - JCCS 2005-2007
Roslyn Woodard San Diego Unified 2005-2007
Karin Alexander Encinitas Union 2006-2008
Ana Hernandez Valley Center-Pauma Unified 2006-2008
Barbara Hall Cardiff 2006-2008
Gisella Gigglberger San Diego Unified 2007-2009
Bonnie Ingalls Ramona Unified 2007-2009
Vanessa Wierenga Temecula Valley Unified 2007-2009
Shauna Friedemann  Del Mar Union  2008-2009
Dawniel Malandra  Solana Beach 2008-2010
Kathleen Rocha San Marcos Unified 2008-2010
Mae Chaplin Escondido Union 2009-2011
Maribel Cuevas Temecula Valley Unified 2009-2011
Julie Reed Oceanside Unified 2009-2011
Jannis Brandenburg Escondido Union High School 2010-2012
Sharon Scott-Gonzalez Vista Unified 2010-2012
Corey Espeleta Carlsbad Unified 2011-2013
Phyllis Wilson Poway Unified 2011-2013
Sandra Orozco San Marcos Unified 2012-2014
Regina Anderson Solana Beach 2013-2015
Victor Vega Vista Unified 2014-2016
Christina Adamson Poway Unified 2015-2017
Nancy Moser-Hayashi San Marcos Unified 2015-2017