department menu

Fall 2008 Blog Entires

From the Desk of Dr. Karen Haynes
Fall 2008

December 15, 2008

2008-2009 Zomalt Outstanding Service Award Winner

Lourdes ShahamiriUpon the recommendation of the Executive Council, I am delighted to announce that Lourdes Shahamiri of the Office of Academic Programs is the 2008-2009 Ernest and Leslie Zomalt Outstanding Service Award honoree. Ms. Shahamiri has a long and distinguished record of service to the mission of the university. She is a linchpin in the Academic Programs office, where her stellar work in preparing new program submissions to the Chancellor's Office has given our campus a system-wide reputation for excellent proposals. Her numerous innovations in curriculum development business practices have included posting curriculum forms online for the Academic Senate review and approval process. Ms. Shahamiri has shown exceptional leadership and dedication in serving the entire campus community, particularly in strengthening our diversity efforts. She is a founding member and the current president of the Latino Association of Faculty and Staff. During her term on the Hispanic Advisory Council, she was a driving force for the César Chávez Project to name the campus plaza and erect the statue in his honor. She was very active in the early development of our Hispanic Serving Institutions initiative, and her many contributions to my Education Equity Task Force led the members to appoint her co-chair. Lourdes Shahamiri exemplifies our "University First" philosophy. She is a visionary leader, a consummate team player, an engaging colleague, and a wonderful mentor, and it is with great pleasure that I announce her selection for this prestigious honor.

Please join me on Thursday, January 15, at 11:00 a.m. in the Dome as we recognize each of the recipients at the Annual Faculty and Staff Awards Reception.

December 10, 2008

2008-2009 President's Faculty and Staff Awards

CSUSM AwardI am pleased to announce this year's President's Awards for faculty and staff:

President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Scholarship and Creative Activity
Professor Peter Arnade, History

President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence
Professor Veronica Anover, World Languages & Hispanic Literatures

President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Service Leadership
Professor Patty Seleski, History

President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Outstanding Lecturer
Professor Kimber Quinney, History

Employees of the Year
Janice Monypeny, Extended Learning
Patricia Morris, Institutional Planning & Analysis

Please join me on Thursday, January 15, at 11:00 a.m. in the Dome as we recognize each of the recipients at the Annual Faculty and Staff Awards Reception.

December 3, 2008

Budget Update

Budget GraphsLast week at my Budget Forum, I announced that we'd launched an updated Budget Central.  It is available from my website.  We will post our budget information, systemwide news and other pertinent documents.  It will also have an FAQ section where we will respond to questions you have raised for which we have answers. There is a link on Budget Central to ask additional questions or make suggestions.  I also want to encourage you to talk to your Deans or your department directors, as they may be in a better position to answer your more specific questions. Thank you for your continued efforts to advocate for the CSU and for your commitment to this University and to our students.

Our next campus Budget Forum will take place on Thursday, January 29, from 12:00 to 1:00 p.m. in ARTS 240.

November 14, 2008

Diversity Town Hall

CommencementI was so pleased to welcome a standing-room-only crowd at the November 10 Diversity Town Hall Forum. The ideas put forth in our invigorating dialogue will serve as a useful road map for moving forward to strengthen the fabric of our multicultural campus community. I said at the forum, and I want to reiterate here, that diversity is neither a quick nor a top-down process. We need to keep working at it together, and we will do that again at a Spring 2009 Diversity Town Hall. I will announce the date and location shortly, and until then, I invite you to review a summary of the November 10 dialogue (PDF) which includes highlights from post-forum feedback that I've received.

November 14, 2008

2008-2009 Brakebill Distinguished Professor

Soheila JorjaniI want to congratulate our colleague, Professor Soheila Jorjani of the College of Business Administration, on being named the 2008-2009 Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor. The Faculty Awards Committee concluded, and I wholeheartedly concur, that she is an extraordinary faculty member who has made outstanding contributions to her students, to her academic discipline, and to our campus community.  A great university begins with great faculty, with professors who are dedicated to scholarly excellence and devoted to the success of their students, and Dr. Jorjani is a shining example of that.

November 14, 2008

Campus Veterans Center Opens

Veterans Center Ribbon Cutting For me, one of the highlights of the Fall 2008 semester was the November 13 grand opening of our new campus Veterans Center, only the 2nd such center in the CSU system. We take pride in the fact that 600 of our students are self-identified active-duty personnel, veterans, or dependents, and we are constantly seeking new ways to serve their needs and expand our outreach to military veterans in the region. I want to pay special tribute to Admiral Len Hering, Commander of the Navy's Southwest Region, who was an inspirational keynote speaker, and to Marine Sgt. Nicholas Wagner, President of the Cal State San Marcos Student Veterans Organization, who spoke eloquently about the need to foster open communication between civilians and military personnel. The Veterans Center will be an inclusive, one-stop-shop for veterans'services. I invite everyone to visit the Center near Cougar Central and learn more about veterans' issues.