

# California State University SAN MARCOS

## Committee for Undergraduate Research (CUGR) Meeting Minutes

Date: September 21, 2023

Location: ADM 2302 | Zoom: https://csusm.zoomus/j/82869404191

<u>Attendees</u>: Charles De Leone, Darcy Taniguchi, Deanna Schmidt, Deborah Feairheller, Dennis Kolosov, Elinne Becket, Erika Diaz, Gustavo Rivera, Jane Kim, Kaitlyn Woltz, Kang Du, Kimberly Vanderbilt, Leila Abrous-Sasanka, Lucy HG Solomon, Matthew Schubert, Michael McDuffie, Nahid Majd, Robert Iafe, Sheila Van Metre

#### Convening of the meeting

Chair Kim welcomed attendees and thanked Dean Trischman for providing lunch. Kim shared the agenda with the committee.

#### **Approval of the Meeting Minutes**

Dr. Kim reported that agendas, past minutes, and documents are available on the CUGR Teams Channel. Historical information is still available on Community. Kim called for consideration of the May 18, 2023 meeting minutes. A motion was made and seconded (Vanderbilt/Schmidt) to approve the May 18, 2023 CUGR Meeting Minutes. Motion carried.

#### **Introductions**

De Leone requested all participants introduce themselves and share their department. Name tents were provided for Inperson participants. Kim provided the three recurring CUGR goals to the committee:

- Compensation: Funding students to participate in RSCA and recognizing faculty who mentor students in RSCA
- **Dissemination:** Providing opportunities for students to present their work
- **Enhancement:** Improving processes and infrastructure to increase student RSCA and enhance faculty mentor community

#### **Announcements**

- a. Fall opportunities for Students to present work
  - November 28th Student Poster Showcase Application deadline is Monday November 13, 2023
  - November 18<sup>th</sup> Southern California Conference for Undergraduate Research (SCCUR)
  - Kim reported additional student research opportunities are listed on the CUGR Teams Channel
- b. Faculty Award Kerri Mowen Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award
  - October 27<sup>th</sup> Nominations due
  - November 28<sup>th</sup> Winner Announcement
  - Selection Committee members Jane Kim, Elinne Becket, Marsol Clarke-Ibanez, Dennis Kolosov

#### **Learning Aligned Employment Program (LAEP)**

Kim reported LAEP is founded by the California Student Aid Commission (CSAC) to support underrepresented <u>undergraduate</u> students with financial need. Deans announced the program and identified college support for ePAN hiring at the launch of the new academic year. Kim reported on the LAEP <u>Website</u>, faculty participation, LAEP Committee role, workflow, hiring process and the <u>FAQ section</u> of LAEP, which is updated regularly. Kim thanked LAEP Committee members Lucy HG Solomon and Ray Malfavon-Borja. Committee discussion ensued on selection bias and opportunity to

level opportunities for all students.

### Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned by acclamation at 1:00 pm

Thank you all for being active members of CUGR and for offering your time and efforts to support undergraduate research and creative activity at CSUSM!