

Associated Students, Inc. of California State University, San Marcos San Marcos, CA 92096-0001 (760) 750-4990 Fax (760) 750-3149 Established 1991

Awards Committee Agenda 20-01

Friday, December 11, 2020 at 11:00am

Zoom: https://csusm.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEkcuyupjMtG9094wnDIg_05

JCM2kJ8DH-d

Posted December 6, 2020

This meeting is being facilitated through an online zoom format, consistent with the Governor's Executive Order N25-20, suspending certain open meeting law restrictions.

ITEM	SUBJECT	PRESENTER
01	Call to Order	Michael Garrett
	The meeting was called to order at 11:03am	Chair & ASI President
02	Roll Call	Michael Garrett
	Present: Michael Garrett, Ryan Groth, Kylie Clark, Allie	Chair & ASI President
	Garcia, Jake Peirce, Chris King, Andrea Luna, Kalie Sabajo,	
	Ashley Fennell	
	Absent: Karla Aguilar, Danielle Creal, Porcha Ingram	
03	Recognition of Guests	Michael Garrett
	None	Chair & ASI President
04	Approval of Agenda	Michael Garrett
Action	Chair motioned to approve by consent vote	Chair & ASI President
	None opposed	
	Motion Carries)
05	Approval of Minutes	Michael Garrett Chair & ASI President
Action	Chair motioned to approve by consent vote	
	None opposed	
06	Motion Carries Open Forum*	Michael Garrett
Information	None	Chair & ASI President
	None	
07	Review of Awards Committee	Ashley Fennell
Discussion	Description : Discuss TLAN event as well as review committee	Assistant Director of Government Affairs &
	membership, duties, and responsibilities as listed in ASI Bylaws.	Initiatives
	Fiscal Impact: None	Kalie Sabajo
	Presenters reviewed ASI Bylaws on the ASI website which gives a	Student Engagement
	description of committee membership as well as committee duties and responsibilities.	Coordinator
08	Review of Tukwut Leadership Awards Night (TLAN) &	
Discussion	Awards Categories	Ashley Fennell Assistant Director of
	Description: Review of event, discussion of continuation, and	Government Affairs &
	possible categories and awards for 20/21 academic year.	Initiatives
	Fiscal Impact: None	Kalie Sabajo
	Discussion focused on whether to continue the event or not which the committee agreed should be continued. They did have concerns	Student Engagement Coordinator
	about engagement and getting folks involved. Then, discussion	Coorainaior
	focused on revision of categories or continuation of current nominee	
	categories. Presenters reviewed current categories on TLAN website.	
	Further discussion focused on week of event and announcements on	
	social media. The committee members had concerns about	
	attendance at a time specific event. They agreed it should be	
	recorded and posted online if at a specific time. They also discussed	

ASI Awards Committee 2020/2021

Michael Garrett Chair & ASI President

Vacant

University Housing Representative

Ryan Groth

Campus Recreation Representative

Porcha Ingram

SLL Representative

Kylie Clark

USU Representative

Allie Garcia

ASI Representative

Karla Aguilar

Student at Large Representative

Danielle Creal

Student at Large Representative

Andrea Luna

Student at Large Representative

Jake Peirce

Board of Directors Representative

Chris King

Board of Directors Representative

Advisors Kalie Sabajo

Student Engagement Coordinator

Ashley Fennell

Associate Director of Government Affairs & Initiatives

09 Information	just "hosting" the event on social media by posting nominees and award winners online. They had concerns about new awards categories and number of nominations to be received. They encouraged nomination outreach to Academic Affairs, CSUSM and social media of committee members. They wanted to "show off" nominees and perhaps nominators online. But had more concerns about presenting information if only minimal nominations received. They discussed submission videos from nominators but had concerns about workload and follow through. They further discussed adding a faculty award and using language related to going the "Extra mile" during COVID. Announcements None	Michael Garrett Chair & ASI President
10 Action	Adjournment The chair adjourned the meeting at 11:51am	Michael Garrett Chair & ASI President

** Public comment will be limited to a maximum of 5 minutes per guest. Chair will determine allocated amount per meeting.