Your  Account:

Honors, Awards & Grants

Honors for School of Education Alumni

Four alumni from the School of Education were honored with teacher of the year awards:
  • Alex Buder, who works at Oak Valley Middle School, was named one of Poway Unified School District’s 2021 School Site Teachers of the Year.
  • Sheen Garcia, who teaches at Del Dios Academy, was named a 2020-21 Teacher of the Year for Escondido Union School District.
  • Joy Leichtfuss, a sixth-grade reading, language arts, and world history teacher at San Marcos Middle School, was named San Marcos Unified School District’s 2020-21 Teacher of the Year.
  • Joe Prechtl, a teacher at Sullivan Middle School, was named a 2020-21 Teacher of the Year for Bonsall Union School District.
books on a desk

Awards and Accolades

Kinesiology Papers in Prestigious Journals

The paper – titled “Changes in VO2max and cardiac output in response to short-term high-intensity interval training in Caucasian and Hispanic young women: A pilot study” – compares responses to exercise training between Hispanic and Caucasian women. Additional authors on the paper include fellow CSUSM student Rasmus D. Clausen and kinesiology professor Todd Astorino.

Read the CSUSM News Story: Kinesiology Papers in Prestigious Journals

Kinesiology Team Receives Top Honor

A team of four Cal State San Marcos undergraduate students and kinesiology professors Jeff Nessler and Sean Newcomer have received Sports Engineering’s 2020 best paper award for their paper, “Effect of wetsuit outer surface material on thermoregulation during surfing.”

Read the CSUSM News Story: Kinesiology Team Receives Top Honor

Dr. Suzanne Moineau Awarded 2018-19 Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Award

“Teaching may just be my greatest love,” Dr. Moineau said. “When I am in the classroom and I see students grasp difficult content, I feel a great sense of joy.” 


Grant Will Help Increase Number of Latinx Teachers

“I hope what this grant means is that we can change the landscape of education to be more reflective of students,” said Pat Stall, the director of CSUSM’s School of Education and the principal investigator for the grant. “Almost all of our North County school districts have over 50 percent Latinx students, and the range of Latinx teachers is 12 to 19 percent. Of course, that kind of discrepancy is not unusual; it’s the same around the country.” 

diverse students

Outstanding Faculty

Dr. DaoudCongratulations to Annette Daoud, Associate Professor in the School of Education, 2015-16 Recipient of the President's Diversity Award.

The President's Inclusive Excellence and Diversity Award is an annual award that bestows the highest level of recognition to an individual for significant achievements in advancing the University's goals in the areas of diversity, inclusive excellence, educational equity and social justice.  The award alternates each year between faculty and staff/MPPs.  Those who are eligible may apply for this award or be nominated.

Dr. VargasResolution Honoring the Remarkable and Noteworthy Accomplishments
and Leadership of Our Distinguished School of Education Director,
Doctor Manuel Vargas

WHEREAS, Dr. Manuel Vargas joined the faculty of California State University San Marcos (CSUSM) in 2013 as the first permanent faculty Director of the School of Education in College of Education Health and Human Services governance structure in the midst of the perfect accreditation storm...

Dr. SorianoFernando Soriano, Professor of Human Development, has been appointed to American Psychological Association’s Alliance Inter-Organizational Task Force on Community Violence. Soriano and other members of the task force will develop resources such as subject matter books for service providers and community residents on the topic of on community violence. Soriano’s research interests focus on violence and delinquency among adolescents.  He specializes in understanding the role of culture and cultural factors, such as acculturation, and how individuals navigate positively through two cultures.  He has worked on American Psychological Association’s Commission on Violence and Youth and contributed to a Surgeon General report on youth violence.

Dr. HaydenKatherine Hayden, Professor of Educational Technology at the School of Education, has received the 2015 Technology in Learning Leadership Award from the Computer Using Educators (CUE) organization.  Hayden is a leader and advocate for effective use of technology for teaching, learning, research and communication.  She has expertise in the development of virtual learning environments and provides leadership for the development of exemplary web-enhanced curricula and materials disseminated internationally.  She has also led initiatives and projects funded by the National Science Foundation for over $3 million.  She is a recognized leader in the area of STEM and Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) innovative practices using cyber infrastructure, computational thinking, innovative technology tools, and robotics.