department menu

Curriculum and Academic Policy Committee

The charge of the Curriculum and Academic Policy Committee (CAPC) is to make recommendations to the Dean concerning curriculum and academic policy.

3.1       The voting members of the CAPC shall be five faculty: two members representing each of the two divisions (humanities and arts; social and behavioral sciences), who are elected by the faculty within their respective divisions; and a fifth member elected at large from among the eligible College faculty.

3.2       Ex officio, non-voting members shall include the Associate Dean, one of the College representatives to the University Curriculum Committee, and a student representative who shall be appointed by the Associated Students.

3.3       Committee members shall serve staggered terms of two years and shall be selected before May 1 of the previous academic year.

3.4       The CAPC shall communicate with the Hiring and Academic Planning and Budget Committees as necessary regarding the CAMP and its implementation.

3.5       The CAPC shall call for, review and make written recommendations regarding all proposals for new departments, programs, centers/institutes, majors/minors, courses, and substantive course changes. The CAPC shall make certain that each proposal contributes to the realization of the CAMP, and shall strive to coordinate its efforts with University Curriculum Committee's requirements and deadlines.

3.6       The CAPC shall receive from the College community requests for information or clarification of existing University or College policies regarding issues of academic policy. For Example:

Credit by Challenge Examination
Undergraduate Probation, Disqualification, and Reinstatement

The CAPC shall develop new policies as needed, or, when necessary, the CAPC shall recommend to the Dean the appointment of a task force to develop guidelines or policy.

Committee Details

Spring 2019 Meeting Schedule:  Wednesdays 2:30p-3:30p

Committee Contacts

  • BSS: Carrick Williams (Co-Chair)
  • BSS: Laurette McGuire 
  • HA: Judy Bauerlein
  • HA: Rebecca Lush  (Co-chair)
  • At-Large: Nicoleta Bateman
  • Lecturer Rep: Vacant
  • Faculty Fellow: Elizabeth Matthews
  • UAS Representative: Domenica Pearl (ex-officio)
  • Administrative Support: Angela Baggett

More information and resources are available to all CHABSS faculty on the CHABSS Shared Governance Moodle