department menu

Advising for Communication and Media Studies

Students majoring or minoring in Communication, majoring in Media Studies, or minoring in Critical Intercultural Communication have two advisors—an academic advisor and a faculty advisor.

The academic advisors for department majors and minors are Chrystal Hady and Renae Scott. They advise students on University requirements, transfer credits, and degree planner; as well, they are knowledgeable about the majors and minors offered in the department. To meet with one of these two advisors, visit Undergraduate Advising Services and make an appointment.

Faculty advisors are tenure track faculty in the department, see the list of advisors provided below. The role of faculty advisors is multi-layered. They (1) advise students on curriculum and requirements for the majors and/or minors; (2) approve transfer work for requirements in either major; (3) advise students on their progress via Degree Planner and major advising worksheets; (4) guide students on course selection given students’ interests; and/or (5) discuss graduate school and/or internship possibilities, among other topics of conversation.

Students are strongly encouraged to visit with their faculty advisor in addition to their academic advisor. Students may track their progress using the advising worksheets and review university Graduation Requirements.

Faculty Advisors

Communication Majors: Student Last Name Media Studies Majors: Student Last Name Professor Office Phone
(760) 750 - 
Office Hours Email
A - BRA A - B Dr. Antonio De La Garza SBSB 2116 8254 Wednesday 1:00 - 4:00pm adelagarza@csusm.edu 
BR E- CRI C - COR Dr. Brian Dolber SBSB 2205 8206

Tuesday 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm;  Thursday 11:30 am - 1:00 pm

bdolber@csusm.edu 
CRO - FL COU - GO Dr. Michelle A. Holling, Dept. Chair SBSB 2136 8576 Wednesday 1:30 pm - 2:30pm;  Also available by appointment mholling@csusm.edu 
FO - HEI GR - J Dr. Michael Huspek SBSB 2214 4177

Wednesday/Thursday  3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

mhuspek@csusm.edu 
HER - LAT K - MAR Dr. Joonseong Lee SBSB 2128 4134 Monday/Wednesday  8:30  am - 9:30 am; Also available by appointment  jlee@csusm.edu 
LAU - MC MAT - MU Dr. Dreama Moon SBSB 2124 4139 By appointment only dmoon@csusm.edu 
ME - PAL N - P Dr. Gloria Pindi SBSB 2132 8552 Monday/Wed 12:30 pm - 2:00pm; Also available by appointment gpindi@csusm.edu 
PAN - SAM R - SA Dr. Kendra Diane Rivera SBSB 2108 8044 Monday 11:30 am – 1:30 pm;
Also available by appointment.
krivera@csusm.edu 
SAN - TH SC - T Dr. Andrew Spieldenner SBSB 2104 8205 Thursday 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm;  Also available by appointment  aspieldenner@csusm.edu
TO - Z V - Z Dr. Cecilia Uy-Tioco SBSB 2120 8281 Monday 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm; Wednesday 11:00 am - 1:00 pm cuytioco@csusm.edu