department menu

Advising for Communication and Media Studies

Students majoring or minoring in Communication, majoring in Media Studies, or minoring in Critical Intercultural Communication have two advisors—an academic advisor and a faculty advisor.

The academic advisors for department majors and minors are Chrystal Hady and Renae Scott. They advise students on University requirements, transfer credits, and degree planner; as well, they are knowledgeable about the majors and minors offered in the department. To meet with one of these two advisors, visit Undergraduate Advising Services and make an appointment.

Faculty advisors are tenure track faculty in the department, see the list of advisors provided below. The role of faculty advisors is multi-layered. They (1) advise students on curriculum and requirements for the majors and/or minors; (2) approve transfer work for requirements in either major; (3) advise students on their progress via Degree Planner and major advising worksheets; (4) guide students on course selection given students’ interests; and/or (5) discuss graduate school and/or internship possibilities, among other topics of conversation.

Students are strongly encouraged to visit with their faculty advisor in addition to their academic advisor. Students may track their progress using the advising worksheets and review university Graduation Requirements.

Faculty Advisors

Communication Majors: Student Last Name Media Studies Majors: Student Last Name Professor Office Phone
(760) 750 - 
Office Hours Email

A - BEN

A - BR Dr. Katherine Brown, Dept Chair SBSB 2112 8073 Only by appointment kbrown@csusm.edu
BER - CE BU - C Dr. Antonio De La Garza SBSB 2201 8254 TBD adelagarza@csusm.edu 
CH - DI D - F Dr. Brian Dolber SBSB 2205 8206 TBD bdolber@csusm.edu 
DO - GE G- HI Dr. Michelle A. Holling SBSB 2136 8576 TBD mholling@csusm.edu 
GI - HE HO - J Dr. Michael Huspek SBSB 2214 4177 TBD mhuspek@csusm.edu 
HI - LAN K - L Dr. Joonseong Lee SBSB 2128 4134 TBD jlee@csusm.edu 
LAR - MA M Dr. Dreama Moon SBSB 2124 4139 TBD dmoon@csusm.edu 
MC - NO N - PA Dr. Gloria Pindi SBSB 2116 8552 TBD gpindi@csusm.edu 
NU - RAM PE - RO Dr. Kendra Diane Rivera SBSB 2108 8044 TBD krivera@csusm.edu 
RAN - SEL RU - SO Dr. Barry Saferstein SBSB 2216 4203 TBD bsaferst@csusm.edu
SEM - T ST - T Dr. Andrew Spieldenner SBSB 2104 8205 TBD aspieldenner@csusm.edu
U  - Z U - Z Dr. Cecilia Uy-Tioco SBSB 2120 8281 TBD cuytioco@csusm.edu