department menu

Faculty Center Upcoming Events

Fall 2017

July 2017

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Mon, July 31 - Fri, Aug 4, 9:30-2:30pm, KEL 2413 Identifying Struggle & Inspiring Success in the Classroom Summer Teaching Institute

August 2017

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Mon, Aug 21, 9-11:30am,  KEL 2303 (TBD) Cougar Courses/Moodle Training New Faculty Institute
Tues, Aug 22, 8:30-4:30pm, KEL 2413 New Faculty Institute New Faculty Institute
Wed, Aug 23, 8:30-3:30pm, KEL 2413 New Faculty Institute New Faculty Institute
Wed, Aug 23, 3:30-5:00pm, KEL 2413 14th Annual Faculty Reception New Faculty Institute
Fri, Aug 25, 9:00am-12:30pm, KEL 1106 Lecturer Orientation  New Faculty Institute 
Fri, Aug 25, 12:00-2:30pm, KEL 2413 Emergency Management New Faculty Institute 

September 2017

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Thurs, Sept 7, 11:30am -1pm, KEL 2413 Teaching in the Political Now: Charlottesville and the Repeal of DACA  N/A
Fri, Sept 8, 1:00-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Fri, Sept 8, 1:30-3:00pm, KEL 2413 Faculty Panel and Discussion "What I know now that I wish I knew then!" New Faculty Institute
Tue, Sept 12, 12-1pm,
KEL 2414
Easy Feedback Tools Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Thurs, Sept 14, 12-1pm,
KEL 2413
Lecturer Drop-In Coffee Hour  Lecturer WPAF
Fri, Sept 15 Faculty Connections Applications Due Faculty Connections
Fri, Sept 15, 12-2pm, KEL 2413 Boundaries – Transitioning Between Grad Students & Instructor  Preparing Future Faculty
Thurs, Sept 21, 3:30-5pm, KEL 2413 NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Fri, Sept 22, 9:30am-1:00pm, KEL 3400 & 2413 The 5th Annual CSUSM and FLC EXPO  N/A
Mon, Sept 25, 11:30am -1pm, KEL 2413 Teaching in the Political Now: Charlottesville and the Repeal of DACA  N/A
Thurs, Sept 28. 12-1pm,
KEL 2414
Graphics 1  Tech Bites Lunch and Learn

*Tech Bites Lunch and Learn will be in TRC; Bring your lunch*

October 2017

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Thurs, Oct 5, 3-4:30pm, KEL 2413 Faculty Connections Kick Off Tea Faculty Connections
Fri, Oct 6,
12:00-1pm, KEL 2413
Insights to Online Learning QOLT
Fri, Oct 6, 1:30-3:00pm, KEL 2413 Preparing Your First Year File (Retention, Tenure and Promotion Process) New Faculty Institute

Fri, Oct 6, 12-12:50pm, MARK 201

Lecturer WPAF: Introduction to the Evaluation Process Lecturer WPAF Series
Tues, Oct 10, 12-1pm,
KEL 2414
Presentation Innovation Tools Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Tues, Oct 10, 12-1pm,
KEL 2413
Lecturer Drop-In Coffee Hour Lecturer WPAF
Fri, Oct 13, 1:00-1:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Thurs, Oct 19,
3:30-5pm, KEL 2413
NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Thurs, Oct 19, 12-1pm, KEL 2413 Teaching & Learning:  Who Are Our Students? Revisiting What We Know Teaching & Learning
Fri, Oct 20, 1-3pm, KEL 2414 Lecturer WPAF: Electronic WPAF Hands-On Training Session Lecturer WPAF Series
Fri, Oct 20, 12-2pm,
KEL 2413
Academic Integrity Preparing Future Faculty
Tues, Oct 24, 12-1pm, KEL 2413 Teaching & Learning Group Luncheon Teaching & Learning
Wed, Oct 25, 5:00-8:00pm, MHH Faculty Center Research Colloquium Dinner Connecting with Colleagues
Thurs, Oct 26, 12-1pm,
KEL 2414
Team Projects & Team-Bases Learning Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Tues, Oct 31, 12:00-1:30pm, KEL 2413 RTP Workshop Retention, Tenure, and Promotion
Tue, Oct 31, 12-1pm, MARK106 Lecturer WPAF: Writing Your Reflective Narrative Lecturer WPAF

November 2017

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Fri, Nov 3, 1:30-3:00pm, KEL 2413 Exploring Scholarship, Writing and Research Resources at CSUSM New Faculty Institute
Tue, Nov 7,
12-1pm, KEL 2413
Understanding What Your Students Understand: Using Classroom Assessment Techniques Teaching & Learning
Thurs, Nov 9, 12-1pm, KEL 2413 Lecturer Drop-In Coffee Hour Lecturer WPAF
Tues, Nov 14, 12-1pm,
KEL 2414
Peer To Peer Instruction Tools Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Thurs, Nov 16,
3:30-5pm, KEL 2413
NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Fri, Nov 17,1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Tues, November 14, 12-1pm,
KEL 2413
VET NET Ally Training  

December 2017

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Fri, Dec 1 Professional Development Grants Due Grants and Development
Fri, Dec 1, 1:30-3:00pm, KEL 2413 End of the Semester Wrap-Up and Planning for Spring New Faculty Institute
Fri, Dec 1, 3-5pm, KEL 2400 FMP Holiday Gathering FMP
Tues, Dec 5, 12-1, KEL 2400 Lecturer Drop-In Coffee Hour Lecturer WPAF
Thurs, Dec 7, 12-1pm, KEL 2414 Creating A Student Friendly Syllabus Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Thurs, Dec TBD, 3:30-5pm, KEL 2413 NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Fri, Dec 8, 12:30-2:00pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory COmmittee
Fri, Dec 8, 10:30-12:30pm, 
KEL 2413
Online Pedagogy 101 QOLT

Spring 2018

January 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Tues, Jan 16, 8am-5pm, 
KEL 2413
FLC STEM Retreat FLC
Wed, Jan 17, 8am-5pm, 
KEL 2413
FLC STEM Retreat FLC 
Fri, Jan 19, 10am-1pm, 
KEL 2413
Syllabus Workshop   Teaching  & Learning 
Fri, Jan 19, 9-12pm, KEL 1106 Lecturer Orientation New Faculty Institute
Fri, Jan 26, 9am-3pm, SBSB 4117 Teaching Toolbox: AVID  AVID
Fri, Jan 26, 12-2pm, KEL 2413 Supporting Your Students Preparing Future Faculty

January 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Tues, Jan 16, 8am-5pm, 
KEL 2413
FLC STEM Retreat FLC
Wed, Jan 17, 8am-5pm, 
KEL 2413
FLC STEM Retreat FLC 
Fri, Jan 19, 10am-1pm, 
KEL 2413
Syllabus Workshop   Teaching  & Learning 
Fri, Jan 19, 9-12pm, KEL 1106 Lecturer Orientation New Faculty Institute
Fri, Jan 26, 9am-3pm, SBSB 4117 Teaching Toolbox: AVID  AVID
Fri, Jan 26, 12-2pm, KEL 2413 Supporting Your Students Preparing Future Faculty

February 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Fri, Feb 2, 1:30-3pm, KEL 2413  Diversity, Educational Equity and Inclusion at CSUSM New Faculty Institute
Thurs, Feb 8, 12-1pm, KEL 2414  Expand Your Toolbox Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Fri, Feb 9,1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Fri, Feb 9, TBD One-Day Symposium on Immigration/Diaspora Studies  
Thurs, Feb 15,12-1pm, KEL 2413 What does Service Learning Has To Do With OPERA? Teaching & Learning
Thurs, Feb 15,3:30-5pm, KEL 2413 NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Fri, Feb 16, 9-3pm, SBSB 4117 Teaching Toolbox: AVID AVID
Fri, Feb 23, 8:30-2pm, USU Latino Student Engagement, Retention and Graduation at Hispanic Serving Institutions  NCHEA
Tues, Feb 27,12-1pm, KEL 2414 Presentation Innovations 2 Tech Bites Lunch and Learn

March 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Fri, Mar 2, 1:30-3pm, KEL 2413 Community Engagement – Service Learning, Internships, Civic Engagement, and Community Engaged Scholarship New Faculty Institute
Mon, Mar 5, 11:30am-1pm, KEL 2413 VET NET Ally Training   
Thurs, Mar 8, 11-1pm, KEL 2413 QOLT Strategies QOLT
Fri, Mar 9, 9-3pm, SBSB 4117 Teaching Toolbox: AVID AVID
Fri, Mar 9, 1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Sat, Mar 10,11:30-1pm, KEL 2400 Super STEM Saturday Faculty & Families
Tues, Mar 13,12-1pm, KEL 2413 Got Service Learning? Teaching and Learning
Thurs, Mar 15,12-1:30pm, KEL 2413 RTP Workshop “Thinking about going up for full professor?” Retention, Tenure, and Promotion
Thurs, Mar 15,3:30-5pm, KEL 2413 NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Thurs, Mar 15, 12-1pm, KEL 2414 Graphics 2 Tools Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Tues, Mar 27, 11-1pm, KEL 2413 Teaching & Learning Group Luncheon Teaching and Learning

April 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Tues, Apr 3,12-1pm, KEL 2414 Advanced Media Editing Tools Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Fri, Apr 6, 9am-3pm, SBSB 4117 Teaching Toolbox: AVID AVID
Fri, Apr 6,1-5:30pm Bus Tour to Temecula Sponsored by Extended Learning New Faculty Institute
Tues, Apr 10,12-1, KEL 2413 Teaching & Learning Teaching & Learning
Fri, Apr 13,1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Tues, Apr 17,5-8pm, McMahan House Research Colloquium Dinner Connecting with Colleagues
Thurs, Apr 19,12-1pm,KEL 2414 CC – What can it tell you about your students and your courses? Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Thurs, Apr 19,12:00-1:30pm, KEL 2413 Sabbatical Workshop Retention, Tenure, and Promotion
Thurs, Apr 19,3:30-5pm, KEL 2413 NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Fri, Apr 20, 12-2pm, KEL2413 Preparing For An Academic Career Preparing Future Faculty
Fri, Apr 27, 9am-3pm, SBSB 4117 Teaching Toolbox: AVID AVID
Fri, Apr 27,10-12:30pm,KEL 2413 Online Course Friday

QOLT

Tues, Apr 30,12:00-1:30pm, KEL 2413 RTP Workshop

Retention, Tenure, and Promotion

May 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type

Thurs, May TBD,3:30-5pm, KEL 2413

NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Tues, May 8,12-1pm,KEL 2414 Qualtrics Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Fri, May 11,1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Fri, May 11,12:30-3pmKEL 2413 What’s next?  Service in Your 2nd Year and Beyond - Lunch and Celebration New Faculty Institute

June

Fri, June 29 Professional Development Grants Final Report Professional Development Grants

June 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Fri, June 29 Professional Development Grants Final Report Professional Development Grants