Your  Account:

Elections and Free Speech Taskforce

The Critical Issues Team was charged in September 2022 to create an ongoing Elections and Free Speech Taskforce to support electoral engagement and the principles of free speech in our CSUSM community.   

Specifically, the taskforce is asked to develop and implement plans that will proactively prepare the CSUSM community for the upcoming elections while promoting inclusive and constructive interactions throughout the election seasons.

This work may include:

  • Strategies that support respectful discourse, promotion of voting and civic engagement, and preparation for post-election processing.
  • Strategies to help keep our campus community safe during campaigning and election related events and activities while also supporting student activism.
  • Strategies to promote inclusive engagement.
  • Strategies to advance education of CSUSM and CSU policies and protocols around campaign engagement, free speech, voter registration, and supporting a healthy democracy.
  • Strategies that support the implementation of an updated Time, Place and Manner policy which includes creating educational sessions and opportunities for engagement and feedback.


  • Jason Schreiber, Dean of Students (Co-Chair)
  • Elizabeth G. Matthews, Ph.D., Professor, Departments of Political Science and Global Studies (Co-Chair)
  • Char Booth, Associate Dean, University Library
  • Lori Brockett, AVP of Alumni Engagement & University Events
  • Giselle Luevanos, Senior Director of Communications and Marketing, University Communications
  • Alicia Lores, Digital Communications Specialist, University Communications
  • Ibrahim Al Marashi, Associate Professor, History & Academic Senate Rep 
  • Tony Pang, Director of Student Leadership
  • Erica Perez, Director of Strategic Communications, Student Affairs
  • Kimber Quinney, Assistant Professor of History
  • Jesse Flores, Chief of Police & AVP of Campus Safety - University Police Department Rep
  • Justin Cadiz - ASI Student Rep (Appointed for 1 year term)
  • TBD - Young Democrats Student Rep (Appointed for 1 year term)
  • TBD - CSUSM Republicans Student Rep (Appointed for 1 year term)
  • Vacant - Government Relations Rep