department menu

Kerri Mowen Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award

This award recognizes faculty who actively engage undergraduates in research experiences/scholarly activities, consistently provide opportunities to promote student success, and offer unbridled support and assistance on admission and matriculation to graduate programs, or in securing a professional career. Know someone who provides extraordinary guidance, support, and inspiration, mentoring undergraduates in research and/or scholarly activities?  Be sure to nominate them!

Nomination letters are submitted to the Kerri Mowen Award Committee and should describe how the nominee reflects the intent of the award including scholarship, effective mentoring, and community building. Nominees will be notified and asked to submit a CV and a brief 250-300 word summary of their mentoring activities.

The award will be announced at the Student Poster Showcase and the recipient will receive a monetary prize.

For more information: Kerri Mowen Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award, and submit nominations by email to

2018 Award Recipinets: Lucy HG Solomon & Dr. Robert Iafe

2017 Award Recipinet: Dr. Kim Pulvers

2016 Award Recipient: Dr. Kimberly D’Anna-Hernandez