To add a TA or colleague, please see our help guide on how to add users. The role you choose for them depends on what you would like them to be able to access. An official TA can be given the role Facilitator with Gradebook Access to allow them editing access as well as grading access. If you want your colleague to be able to import your content into their course, you will choose the role Facilitator without Gradebook Access (this gives them editing ability and the ability to import). If you only want them to be able to view your course, choose the role Student.
We caution against manually adding students. Manually adding a student to a course in Cougar Courses does not represent official enrollment. To be officially enrolled in a course they must be enrolled and on the roster in MyCSUSM. Once they are officially on the roster in MyCSUSM, they will automatically be added to the course in Cougar Courses within 24 hours. If you want them to have access to the course earlier than the 24 hours you can manually add them (see the help guide in the paragraph above), but keep in mind if they end up not taking the course or dropping the course you will need to manually remove them (see question below).
It depends on how they were added. If you manually added someone you can manually remove them. Go to your Participants list and click the trash can icon under the Status column.
If you do not see a trash can icon it means they were not manually added, so they cannot be manually removed. For students to be removed they must be removed from the roster in MyCSUSM. Once they are removed from the roster in MyCSUSM, they will automatically be removed from the course in Cougar Courses within 24 hours. For more information on how to remove a student from the roster in MyCSUSM please contact your department or the Registrar's Office. For previous instructors to be removed a special process has to be run. Please see the answer for the second question above.
Please email firstname.lastname@example.org with their first name, last name, email address, and the role you want us to give them: either student or facilitator without gradebook access. We can not assign an Instructor role or facilitator with gradebook access role as only the instructor assigned to the course should have access to student work and grades. We will create an account and notify them of their username and password.
If you want a list of the students and their emails you can export an Excel sheet from the Participants page:
Yes, there is.
This will download all content from your course, including all resources and activities, not just files.
If you set a Display Start Date for the announcement then you can't edit after posting. You will want to delete the announcement and post again.
If you did not set a Display Start date then you can edit the announcement for the first 15 minutes after posting. Click on the announcement subject and then in the lower right click Edit. You can't edit if it has been more than 15 minutes since posting. In that instance you will want to delete the announcement and post again.