department menu

Fran Aleshire Leadership Award

Fran Aleshire PictureIn 1986, Dr. Fran Aleshire had a vision of creating a strong network of community leaders who would continually improve the region in which they live and work. By leveraging their existing leadership knowledge, she believed these leaders could learn the nuances of navigating through the municipal, corporate and non-profit systems and, with this new information, transform the future of the region.

As such, Dr. Aleshire designed a program – Leadership 2000, which eventually became Leadership North County – that would highlight the existing infrastructure and address the current issues facing the region all while simultaneously introducing the participants to the different geographic areas of North County San Diego.

The Fran Aleshire Leadership Award recognizes an outstanding regional leader in North San Diego County who reflects the spirit and character of the late Dr. Fran Aleshire.

Selection Criteria

The Fran Aleshire Leadership Award winner must demonstrate that he/she:

  1. is a graduate/co-founder of either Leadership North County or Leadership 2000;
  2. has been a catalyst for positive change in the region; and
  3. has effected local policy, resulting in positive change.

Call for Nominations Open for 2018

We invite you to submit a nomination for the 2018 Fran Aleshire Leadership Award! Deadline for Nominations: Friday, November 16, 2018 

Fill out my online form.

Press Release: Chuck Matthews Receives Leadership North County 2017 Fran Aleshire Leadership Award

Past Recipients of the Fran Aleshire Leadership Award:

  • 2017 - Chuck Matthews
  • 2016 - Cheryl Broom
  • 2015 - Kevin Holt
  • 2014 - Brenda Hall
  • 2013 - Raye Clendening
  • 2012 - Donald Stump
  • 2011 - Gina McBride
  • 2010 - Becky Cole Garrett
  • 2009 - Julie Wright
  • 2008 - Jim Desmond
  • 2007 - Major General Marc Moore
  • 2006 - Lori Holt Pfeiler
  • 2005 - Ramona Finnila