

# California State University SAN MARCOS

Office of the President

## Harvey Neufeldt Faculty Award

2023-24 Guidelines and Call for Nominations

#### **PURPOSE OF THE AWARD**

This award will recognize a faculty member selected for their contribution toward the achievement of the university's mission and demonstrated service to the campus community. The recipient of this award may be selected on the basis of a career of achievement or for extraordinary service toward a single event.

#### **ELIGIBILITY**

All current tenure-track and lecturer faculty members, including teaching and/or non-teaching assignments (counselors, coaches, and librarians), at California State University San Marcos for one or more semesters (or four months per year) during the last year are eligible for nomination or self-nomination.

#### **TIMELINE**



### APPLICATION/NOMINATION AND REVIEW PROCESS

Faculty may self-nominate or be nominated for this award by colleagues, students, former students, alumni, and/or staff.

- 1. The nomination form is available at <a href="https://www.csusm.edu/president/awards/neufeldt/guidelines.html">https://www.csusm.edu/president/awards/neufeldt/guidelines.html</a>.
- 2. HREO will review all applicants for eligibility years of service, performance evaluations, etc.
- 3. The President's Administrative Team will serve as the screening committee for eligible nominations and make the final decision.

#### **SELECTION CRITERIA**

The candidate's contributions toward the achievement of the university's mission and demonstrated service to the campus community. This can be either a career of achievement or extraordinary service for a single event.

#### PRESENTATION OF THE AWARD

An announcement to the campus community will be sent after the President's Administrative Team has selected the recipient of the award. The honoree will be recognized at the CSUSM Heroes Celebration and will receive a \$500 privately funded award and a plaque.

#### SUBMISSION/INFORMATION CONTACT

Nominations, applications, and all questions should be directed to Melinda Jones in the Office of the President; by email at <a href="mailto:presidentialawards@csusm.edu">presidentialawards@csusm.edu</a>.