department menu

Presidential Search

CSUSM Busy Campus

California State University San Marcos President Karen Haynes announced that she will retire June 30, 2019.

A search is underway for the University's next president. This site will be updated regularly with information on the search process, timelines and other activities related to the selection of CSUSM’s next leader.

Latest News

The CSUSM Presidential Search Committee hosted an open forum for students, faculty, staff and the community on Friday, Nov. 30, 2018. Watch the video recording.


Presidential Search Committee

The membership of the search committee and advisory committee was announced Thursday, Nov. 15, 2018. Please visit our communications page for the full announcement.

Trustees' Committee

Trustee Jean Picker Firstenberg (Search Committee Chair)
Trustee Debra Farar
Trustee Juan García
Trustee Jack McGrory
Trustee Chairman Adam Day
CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White.

Advisory Committee

Faculty Representatives
Mtafiti Imara, Ph.D., professor and chair, Music
Jacqueline Trischman, Ph.D., professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Suzanne Moineau, Ph.D., chair, CSUSM Academic Senate

Staff Representative
Christine Vaughan, creative communications officer, CSUSM Office of Communications

Student Representative
Savana Doudar, president and chief executive officer, CSUSM Associated Students, Inc.

Alumni Representative
Jeremy Addis-Mills ('07, Political Science & Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies), CSUSM Alumni Association 

Campus Advisory Board Representative
Jack Raymond, chair, CSUSM Foundation Board

CSUSM Vice President Representative
Patricia Prado-Olmos, Ph.D., vice president, CSUSM Division of Community Engagement

Community Representative
Major General Tony Jackson (retired) and Russell “Butch” Murphy

CSU Presidents' Representative
Ellen Junn, Ph.D., president of California State University, Stanislaus