department menu

Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC)

FAC Agendas and Minutes 19/20 (Accessible to Campus Community)
Committee Member Log-In

Meetings are held:  Mondays
Time:  1:00 pm to 2:30 pm
Location:  KEL-3010
Fall 2019 - September 9, 16, 23, 30; October 7, 14, 21, 28; November 4, 18, 25; December 2
Spring 2020 - January 27; February 3, 10, 17, 24; March 2, 9, 16, 23; April 6, 13, 20, 27

VOTING MEMBERS 19/20 SEAT (Representing)
Yvonne Meulemans Library 18-20, FAC Committee Chair
VACANT  (since 09/18) CHABSS 19-21
Matthew Schubert CEHHS 19-21
Cynthia Melendrez Faculty At-large 19-21
Wendy Hansbrough Faculty At-large 19/20
Deanna Asakawa Faculty At-large 18-20
Nahid Majd CSM 18-20
Christina Simokat PT Lecturer 18-20
Qi Sun CoBA 19-21
Michelle Hunt AVP,  Faculty Affairs
Michelle Ramos Pellicia CFA Representative, Fall '19

Committee Charge:
  The Faculty Affairs Committee addresses issues that affect faculty members and their ability to carry out their professional responsibilities. FAC has general oversight of personnel policies and procedures including those of compensation, retention, tenure, and promotion. The committee recommends changes in the Faculty Handbook and reviews and recommend the annual calendar of dates for retention, tenure, and promotion. The Faculty Affairs Committee recommends procedures and policies for equal opportunity, retirement, leaves of absence, and sabbatical or special leaves. The Faculty Affairs Committee proposes policy regarding faculty development in the areas of teaching, research/creative activity, and service. Furthermore, the committee makes recommendations to the office of the Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs concerning all of these issues. The committee shall propose policy and provide procedures for resolution of faculty disciplinary issues and issues of academic freedom and workload. The committee shall work in consultation with CSUSM-CFA, the university administration, and other appropriate bodies. In pursuit of these duties, the committee may create ad hoc subcommittees. 

RTP Assessment Subcommittee

Yvonne Meulemans FAC Member
Qi Sun FAC Member
Lori Heisler CEHHS Faculty
Elisa Grant-Valone CHABSS Faculty
Qi Sun CoBA Faculty
Kambiz Hamadani CSM Faculty
Talitha Matlin Library Faculty
TBA Dean
Michelle Hunt Office of Faculty Affairs representative
Michelle Ramos Pellicia CFA representative     
RTP Assessment Subcommittee Charge:  
With the overall goal of devising an effective RTP process that is more streamlined, less burdensome on faculty and staff time, and easier to implement, FAC asks that RTP Assessment Subcommittee:
1.  Identify problem areas, issues, and topics for potential reform, regarding the current RTP process.
2.  Develop goals and criteria to guide potential revisions to the RTP policy and process.
3.  Develop areas of potential reform and revisions for the campus RTP policy and process, culminating with a report to FAC, with recommendations for action (if any).