Your  Account:

Travel Ban - Assembly Bill No. 1887

Assembly Bill No. 1887 is a California law that restricts state agencies from requiring employees to travel to any state that has enacted a law that discriminates on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identify, or gender expression. The law also prohibits state-funded and state-sponsored travel to states on the list. The restrictions apply to all CSU employees, officers, or members, as well as non-employee travelers, including students.

AB1887 Travel Bans were effective as of January 1, 2017, with additions to the list possible as needed. 

Travelers are required to check the Office of Attorney General’s website for the list of affected states prior to initiating the travel approval process. The Legislature created exceptions in AB 1887 that allow travel to banned states in certain circumstances. If you have university business travel planned to one of these states, please contact the Travel Office at

The following states are currently subject to California’s ban on state-funded and state-sponsored travel:

States with a Travel Ban in Effect
State Effective Date
Alabama June 22, 2017
Arizona September 28, 2022
Arkansas July 29, 2021
Florida July 1, 2021
Georgia August 19, 2022
Idaho July 1, 2020
Indiana July 1, 2022
Iowa October 4, 2019
Kansas January 1, 2017
Kentucky June 22, 2017
Louisiana August 1, 2022
Mississippi January 1, 2017
Montana July 1, 2021
North Carolina January 1, 2017
North Dakota August 1, 2021
Ohio September 30, 2021
Oklahoma June 22, 2018
South Carolina April 15, 2019
South Dakota June 22, 2017
Tennessee January 1, 2017
Texas June 22, 2017
Utah July 1, 2022
West Virginia July 8, 2021