department menu

University Policies

Appeals Process - Student Financial Services

An appeals process exists for students who believe that individual circumstances warrant exceptions from published policy. Students should file a University Fee Appeal or at the Student Financial Services (Cashiers) Office in Cougar Central located at Craven Hall 3800.

Petitions for refunds outside the scope of published policy are approved only when applicants can demonstrate exceptional circumstances, and the chief financial officer or designee determines that the fees and tuition were not earned by the University.


Non-Payment of Fees

Failure to pay fees by the published deadline may result in immediate cancellation from all reserved courses, unless you are exempt. Only on-time payment or dropping all classes online prior to the first day of the term, may exempt students from owing a debt to the University.

Should a student, or former student, fail to pay a debt owed to the institution, the institution may "withhold permission to register, to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged, to receive services, materials, food or merchandise or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt" until that debt is paid (see Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42380 and 42381). For example, the institution may withhold permission to send official transcripts of grades for any person owing a debt.

If a student believes that he or she does not owe all or part of an unpaid obligation, the student should contact Student Financial Services either by phone (760) 750-4490, e-mail sfs@csusm.edu, or in person at the Student Financial Services (Cashier's Office) in Cougar Central, located in Craven Hall 3800. Student Financial Services will review the pertinent information, including information the student may wish to present, and will advise the student of its conclusions with respect to the debt.

Note: For Extended Learning (EL) refund schedules please go to http://www.csusm.edu/el Please note that Extended Learning (EL) classes may have a different fee structure and drop/refund policies.


Dishonored Checks and Credit Cards

Writing a bad check is against the law. California Civil Code, Chapter 522, Section 1719, allows recipients of bad checks to sue in Small Claims Court for up to three times the amount of the check or $100.00, whichever is more, plus the face value of the check and all court costs. Placing a stop payment, closing the account, or disputing a credit card charge does not release students from their financial obligation, nor does it automatically withdraw them from enrollment.

A dishonored check/disputed credit card charge:

  • Will result in the University no longer accepting payment for any services by personal check;
  • Will result in the student being required to make payment in the form of cash, money order, or Cashier's check;
  • Will result in a financial hold of the student's records and denial of services until full payment is made.
  • Will result in a $20.00 dishonored check/disputed credit card fee, plus a $15.00 administrative late fee; and may result in the cancellation of class registration.
  • May result in a $15 administrative late fee if dishonored item is not repaid on time.
  • May result in cancellation of all class registrations.

Refund of Fees, including Non-Resident Tuition

Please read carefully. It is the student's responsibility to become familiar with all deadlines, policies and procedures. Only the student dropping their own classes, online, prior to the first day of the term will eliminate owing a debt to the university.

All refund checks will be mailed to the address on file with the Office of Registration and Records. Please go to your online student center to make sure your address is correct or sign up for direct deposit in your student center for faster, more secure refunding. You may edit your address online in your student center and your direct deposit information. If payment was made by credit card, the refund will be applied to the credit card from which payment was made.

Refund for Withdrawal or Cancellation of Registration

Full refund: To receive a full refund of mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, you must officially withdraw or otherwise cancel your registration or drop all courses prior to the first day of instruction for the term. An administrative fee of $5.00 applies to all refunds. Students are not required to file a refund application. Refer to the university website for information about how to officially withdraw and/or cancel registration.

Students will also receive a full refund of mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition (no administrative refund fee is withheld) under the following circumstances:

  • The tuition and mandatory fees were assessed or collected in error.
  • The course for which the tuition and mandatory fees were assessed or collected was canceled by the University.
  • The University makes a delayed decision that the student was not eligible to enroll in the term for which the mandatory fees were assessed and collected and the delayed decision was not due to incomplete or inaccurate information provided by the student.
  • The student was activated for compulsory military service.

Remember: To receive a full refund you must drop all courses, online, prior to the first day of the term, or you will owe a debt to the University.

Prorated Refund: Starting with the first day of the term, refunds for complete withdrawal or cancellation of registration will be prorated, based on the date of withdrawal and the percentage of the period of enrollment completed. An administrative refund fee of $5 will be withheld. It is not necessary to file an application for refund. Refunds will begin approximately 10 days after the add/drop period.

If it is your intent to withdraw for the semester, it is important that you do so early. Failure to withdraw for an academic term prior to the first day of the term obligates the student to pay a portion of the mandatory fees including any tuition for the reservation of space in the course. You will receive a full refund less an administrative fee of $5.00 only if you officially withdraw prior to the first day of the term.

Prorated refunds will be processed for a student's complete withdrawal up to the 60% point of the term. A student who withdraws from the University after the 60% point in the academic period, or fails to officially withdraw from the campus shall not be entitled to any refund of tuition or mandatory fees.


Non-Attendance

Attention Students: Instructors may administratively drop students who do not attend the first class meeting or have not met course requirements during the add/drop period. Students who wish to remain enrolled in a class, but are unable to attend the first class session, are highly encouraged to contact the instructor the week before school begins to communicate reasons for missing the first class session, and to receive confirmation that space in the class will be retained.

In addition, it is the student's responsibility to drop any unwanted courses during the add/drop period through self-service in MyCSUSM to avoid having a less than satisfactory grades (e.g., NC, WU, or F) reported on the official academic transcript. After the add/drop period, students may request a withdrawal. Please review the University Catalog or meet with your major advisor regarding the withdrawal policy and procedures.

It is the student's responsibility to monitor and verify his or her class schedule. This information is available throughout the semester in MyCSUSM or from Cougar Central.

Registration information was provided by the Office of the Registrar.
Posted on April 9, 2016


University Tuition Installment Plan

  1. Sections 89707.5 and 89700.1 of the Education Code and AB 3294 Chapter 536 Statute 1992 allows an out-of-state student to pay the required nonresident tuition fees on an installment basis.
  2. Once in your MyCSUSM you may enroll in a payment plan. The amount due is divided into four equal installments of Registration, Class / Course fees and out of state fees are eligible to place on the payment plan. All campus mandatory fees must be paid at the time of the 1st installment to ensure that you will be held in your classes. CSUSM offers 0% interest payments. A non-refundable enrollment fee of $25 per semester applies to the Payment Plan.
  3. Payments are due on the 6th of each month as listed in MyCSUSM. It is the student's responsibility to ensure payments are made timely through MyCSUSM. A $15.00 late payment fee will be charged for any payment received after the due date.
  4. Failure to make the 1st installment payment will result in a term cancellation of all classes. At the 2nd through 4th installments a hold will be placed on the student account to prevent any further University business and the University will begin normal collection processes as outlined in the CSUSM Catalogue.
  5. A student defaulting on the payment of an installment agreement for any semester may not eligible to participate in the program again.

Non-Payment of Fees

Failure to pay fees by the published deadline may result in immediate cancellation from all reserved courses, unless you are exempt. Only on-time payment or dropping all classes online prior to the first day of the term, may exempt students from owing a debt to the University.

Should a student, or former student, fail to pay a debt owed to the institution, the institution may "withhold permission to register, to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged, to receive services, materials, food or merchandise or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt" until that debt is paid (see Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42380 and 42381). For example, the institution may withhold permission to send official transcripts of grades for any person owing a debt.

If a student believes that he or she does not owe all or part of an unpaid obligation, the student should contact Student Financial Services either by phone (760) 750-4490, e-mail sfs@csusm.edu, or in person at the Student Financial Services (Cashier's Office) in Cougar Central, located in Craven Hall 3800. Student Financial Services will review the pertinent information, including information the student may wish to present, and will advise the student of its conclusions with respect to the debt.

Note: For Extended Learning (EL) refund schedules please go to http://www.csusm.edu/el Please note that Extended Learning (EL) classes may have a different fee structure and drop/refund policies.


Dishonored Checks and Credit Cards

Writing a bad check is against the law. California Civil Code, Chapter 522, Section 1719, allows recipients of bad checks to sue in Small Claims Court for up to three times the amount of the check or $100.00, whichever is more, plus the face value of the check and all court costs. Placing a stop payment, closing the account, or disputing a credit card charge does not release students from their financial obligation, nor does it automatically withdraw them from enrollment.

A dishonored check/disputed credit card charge:

  • Will result in the University no longer accepting payment for any services by personal check;
  • Will result in the student being required to make payment in the form of cash, money order, or Cashier's check;
  • Will result in a financial hold of the student's records and denial of services until full payment is made.
  • Will result in a $20.00 dishonored check/disputed credit card fee, plus a $15.00 administrative late fee; and may result in the cancellation of class registration.
  • May result in a $15 administrative late fee if dishonored item is not repaid on time.
  • May result in cancellation of all class registrations.

Refund of Fees, including Non-Resident Tuition

Please read carefully. It is the student's responsibility to become familiar with all deadlines, policies and procedures. Only the student dropping their own classes, online, prior to the first day of the term will eliminate owing a debt to the university.

All refund checks will be mailed to the address on file with the Office of Registration and Records. Please go to your online student center to make sure your address is correct or sign up for direct deposit in your student center for faster, more secure refunding. You may edit your address online in your student center and your direct deposit information. If payment was made by credit card, the refund will be applied to the credit card from which payment was made.

Refund for Withdrawal or Cancellation of Registration

Full refund: To receive a full refund of mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, you must officially withdraw or otherwise cancel your registration or drop all courses prior to the first day of instruction for the term. An administrative fee of $5.00 applies to all refunds. Students are not required to file a refund application. Refer to the university website for information about how to officially withdraw and/or cancel registration.

Students will also receive a full refund of mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition (no administrative refund fee is withheld) under the following circumstances:

  • The tuition and mandatory fees were assessed or collected in error.
  • The course for which the tuition and mandatory fees were assessed or collected was canceled by the University.
  • The University makes a delayed decision that the student was not eligible to enroll in the term for which the mandatory fees were assessed and collected and the delayed decision was not due to incomplete or inaccurate information provided by the student.
  • The student was activated for compulsory military service.

Remember: To receive a full refund you must drop all courses, online, prior to the first day of the term, or you will owe a debt to the University.

Prorated Refund: Starting with the first day of the term, refunds for complete withdrawal or cancellation of registration will be prorated, based on the date of withdrawal and the percentage of the period of enrollment completed. An administrative refund fee of $5 will be withheld. It is not necessary to file an application for refund. Refunds will begin approximately 10 days after the add/drop period.

If it is your intent to withdraw for the semester, it is important that you do so early. Failure to withdraw for an academic term prior to the first day of the term obligates the student to pay a portion of the mandatory fees including any tuition for the reservation of space in the course. You will receive a full refund less an administrative fee of $5.00 only if you officially withdraw prior to the first day of the term.

Prorated refunds will be processed for a student's complete withdrawal up to the 60% point of the term. A student who withdraws from the University after the 60% point in the academic period, or fails to officially withdraw from the campus shall not be entitled to any refund of tuition or mandatory fees.


Non-Attendance

Attention Students: Instructors may administratively drop students who do not attend the first class meeting or have not met course requirements during the add/drop period. Students who wish to remain enrolled in a class, but are unable to attend the first class session, are highly encouraged to contact the instructor the week before school begins to communicate reasons for missing the first class session, and to receive confirmation that space in the class will be retained.

In addition, it is the student's responsibility to drop any unwanted courses during the add/drop period through self-service in MyCSUSM to avoid having a less than satisfactory grades (e.g., NC, WU, or F) reported on the official academic transcript. After the add/drop period, students may request a withdrawal. Please review the University Catalog or meet with your major advisor regarding the withdrawal policy and procedures.

It is the student's responsibility to monitor and verify his or her class schedule. This information is available throughout the semester in MyCSUSM or from Cougar Central.

Registration information was provided by the Office of the Registrar.
Posted on April 9, 2016


University Tuition Installment Plan

  1. Sections 89707.5 and 89700.1 of the Education Code and AB 3294 Chapter 536 Statute 1992 allows an out-of-state student to pay the required nonresident tuition fees on an installment basis.
  2. Once in your MyCSUSM you may enroll in a payment plan. The amount due is divided into four equal installments of Registration, Class / Course fees and out of state fees are eligible to place on the payment plan. All campus mandatory fees must be paid at the time of the 1st installment to ensure that you will be held in your classes. CSUSM offers 0% interest payments. A non-refundable enrollment fee of $25 per semester applies to the Payment Plan.
  3. Payments are due on the 6th of each month as listed in MyCSUSM. It is the student's responsibility to ensure payments are made timely through MyCSUSM. A $15.00 late payment fee will be charged for any payment received after the due date.
  4. Failure to make the 1st installment payment will result in a term cancellation of all classes. At the 2nd through 4th installments a hold will be placed on the student account to prevent any further University business and the University will begin normal collection processes as outlined in the CSUSM Catalogue.
  5. A student defaulting on the payment of an installment agreement for any semester may not eligible to participate in the program again.
  1. Sections 89707.5 and 89700.1 of the Education Code and AB 3294 Chapter 536 Statute 1992 allows an out-of-state student to pay the required nonresident tuition fees on an installment basis.
  2. Once in your MyCSUSM you may enroll in a payment plan. The amount due is divided into four equal installments of Registration, Class / Course fees and out of state fees are eligible to place on the payment plan. All campus mandatory fees must be paid at the time of the 1st installment to ensure that you will be held in your classes. CSUSM offers 0% interest payments. A non-refundable enrollment fee of $25 per semester applies to the Payment Plan.
  3. Payments are due on the 6th of each month as listed in MyCSUSM. It is the student's responsibility to ensure payments are made timely through MyCSUSM. A $15.00 late payment fee will be charged for any payment received after the due date.
  4. Failure to make the 1st installment payment will result in a term cancellation of all classes. At the 2nd through 4th installments a hold will be placed on the student account to prevent any further University business and the University will begin normal collection processes as outlined in the CSUSM Catalogue.
  5. A student defaulting on the payment of an installment agreement for any semester may not eligible to participate in the program again.