department menu

Advising for Communication and Mass Media Students

Students majoring or minoring in Communication, majoring in Mass Media, or minoring in Critical Intercultural Communication have two advisors—an academic advisor and a faculty advisor.

The academic advisor for department majors and minors is Silverio Haro. He advises students on University requirements, transfer credits, and degree planner; as well, he is knowledgeable about the majors and minors offered in the department. To meet with him, visit Undergraduate Advising Services

Faculty advisors are tenure track faculty in the department, see the list of advisors provided below. The role of faculty advisors is multi-layered. They (1) advise students on curriculum and requirements for the majors and/or minors; (2) approve transfer work for requirements in either major; (3) advise students on their progress via Degree Planner and major advising worksheets; (4) guide students on course selection given students’ interests; and/or (5) discuss graduate school and/or internship possibilities, among other topics of conversation.

Students are strongly advised to visit with their faculty advisor in addition to their academic advisor. Students may track their progress using the advising worksheets and review university graduation requirements, visit Graduation Requirements.

Fall 2017 Communication & Mass Media Faculty Advisors:

Comm Majors Mass Media Majors  Professor  Office Phone  Office Hours Email 
A - Ben  A - Bo Dr. Katherine Brown  SBSB 2112 (760) 750-8073  Tues/Thurs1-2 pm; Wed 4-5 pm; Also available by appt.  kbrown@csusm.edu 
 Ber - Cor  Be - Coj  Dr. Antonio De La Garza SBSB 2116  (760) 750-8254 Wed 9-10 am & 3-4 pm  adelagarza@csusm.edu 
 Cow - F  Con - Dr Dr. Michelle A. Holling, Department Chair  SBSB 2136  (760) 750-8576 Wed 2:30-3:30 pm; Also available by appt.  mholling@csusm.edu 
 G - H  Du - Go Dr. Michael Huspek  SBSB 2214  (760) 750-4177 Thurs 12-2 pm; Also available by appt.  mhuspek@csusm.edu 
 I - Le Gr - Kr  Dr. Joonseong Lee  SBSB 2128  (760) 750-4134 Mon/Tues/Thurs 10:30-11:30 am  jlee@csusm.edu 
 Li - Me Ku - Mc  Dr. Dreama Moon  SBSB 2124  (760) 750-4139 Tues 3-4 pm; Thurs 11-12 pm; Also available by appt.  dmoon@csusm.edu 
 Mi - Peq Me - Pa  Dr. Gloria Pindi  SBSB 2132  (760) 750-8552 Wed 1-3 pm; Also available by appt.  gpindi@csusm.edu 
Per - R Pi - Sa Dr. Kendra Diane Rivera SBSB 2108  (760) 750-8044 Wed 11 am-1 pm; Also available by appt. krivera@csusm.edu 
S - Tal Sc - V Dr. Barry Safersteain SBSB 2216  (760) 750-8094 Tues 4-5 pm;  Wed 2:30-4:30pm bsaferst@csusm.edu 
Tam - Z W - Z Dr. Cecilia Uy-Tioco SBSB 2120  (760) 750-8281 Mon 12-2 pm; Tues 1-2 pm cutioco@csusm.edu