department menu

Faculty Center Upcoming Events

Spring 2018

January 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Tues, Jan 16, 8am-5pm, 
KEL 2413
FLC STEM Retreat FLC
Wed, Jan 17, 8am-5pm, 
KEL 2413
FLC STEM Retreat FLC 
Fri, Jan 19, 10am-1pm, 
KEL 2413
Syllabus Workshop   Teaching  & Learning 
Fri, Jan 19, 9-12pm, KEL 1106 Lecturer Orientation New Faculty Institute
Fri, Jan 26, 9am-3pm, SBSB 4117 AVID: A Coordinated Philosophy for Learning  The Teaching Toolbox Series 
Fri, Jan 26, 12-2pm, KEL 2413 Supporting Your Students Preparing Future Faculty
Wed, Jan 31, 3:30-5pm, KEL 2413 NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA

February 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Fri, Feb 2, 1:30-3pm, KEL 2413  Diversity, Educational Equity and Inclusion at CSUSM New Faculty Institute
Fri, Feb 2, 10-12:30pm, KEL 2413 Online Pedgogy 101 QOLT
Thurs, Feb 8, 12-1pm, KEL 2414  Expand Your Toolbox Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Fri, Feb 9,1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Fri, Feb 9, 9:00-2:00pm, KEL 2413 One-Day Symposium on Immigration/Diaspora Studies  
Wed, Feb 14, 12-1pm, KEL 2413 Special WPAF workshop *for lecturers on 3 year contracts* Lecturer WPAF Series
Thurs, Feb 15,12-1pm, KEL 2413 What does Service Learning Has To Do With OPERA? Teaching & Learning
Fri, Feb 16, 9-3pm, SBSB 4117 AVID: Academic Reading & Assessment The Teaching Toolbox Series 
Fri, Feb 23, 8:30-2pm, USU Latino Student Engagement, Retention and Graduation at Hispanic Serving Institutions  NCHEA
Tues, Feb 27,12-1pm, KEL 2414 Media Editing with Camtasia Studio Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Wed, Feb 28, 12-1pm, KEL 2413 Lecturer Drop-In Coffee Hour Lecturer WPAF

March 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Fri, Mar 2, 1:30-3pm, KEL 2413 Community Engagement – Service Learning, Internships, Civic Engagement, and Community Engaged Scholarship New Faculty Institute
Mon, Mar 5, 11:30am-1pm, KEL 2413 VET NET Ally Training   
Thurs, Mar 8, 12-1pm, KEL 2414 Graphics 2 Tools Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Fri, Mar 9, 9:30am-3pm, SBSB 4117 AVID: Academic Writing & Reading The Teaching Toolbox Series
Fri, Mar 9, 1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Sat, Mar 10,11:30am-1pm, KEL 2400 Super STEM Saturday Faculty & Families
Tues, Mar 13,12-1pm, KEL 2413 Got Service Learning? Teaching and Learning
Thurs, Mar 15,12-1:30pm, KEL 2413 RTP Workshop “Thinking about going up for full professor?” Retention, Tenure, and Promotion
Thurs, Mar 15,3:30-5pm, KEL 2413 NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Fri, Mar 16, 12-1pm, KEL 2413  Introduction to the Evaluation Process Lecturer WPAF Series
Tues, Mar 27, 11-1pm, KEL 2413 Teaching & Learning Group Luncheon Teaching and Learning
Wed, Mar 28, 12-1pm, KEL 2413 Lecturer Drop-In Coffee Hour Lecturer WPAF

April 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type
Tues, Apr 3,12-1pm, KEL 2414 More Innovative Presentation Tools Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Fri, Apr 6, 1-3pm, KEL 2414  Electronic WPAF Hands-On Training Session Lecturer WPAF Series
Fri, Apr 6,10:00-12:30pm,KEL 2413 Teaching Online 101  QOLT
Fri, Apr 6,1-5:30pm *CANCELLED*Bus Tour to Temecula Sponsored by Extended Learning New Faculty Institute
Tues, Apr 10,12-1, MARK 202 Active Learning Teaching & Learning
Thurs, Apr 12, 12 - 12:50pm, KEL 2413 Faculty Feedback Session: Academic Advising   
Fri, Apr 13,1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Tues, Apr 17,5-8pm, McMahan House Research Colloquium Dinner Connecting with Colleagues
Wed, Apr 18, 12-12:50pm, KEL 2413 Faculty Feedback Session: Academic Advising   
Thurs, Apr 19,12-1pm,KEL 2414 CC Reports, Analytics & Statistics Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Thurs, Apr 19,12:00-1:30pm, KEL 2413 Sabbatical Workshop Retention, Tenure, and Promotion
Thurs, Apr 19,3:30-5pm, KEL 2413 NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Fri, Apr 20, 12-2pm, KEL2413 Preparing For An Academic Career Preparing Future Faculty
Wed, Apr 25, 12-1pm, KEL 2413 Lecturer Drop-In Coffee Hour Lecturer WPAF
Fri, Apr 27, 9:30am-3pm, SBSB 4117 AVID: Collaboration & Academic Reading AVID
Tues, Apr 30,12:00-1:30pm, KEL 2413 RTP Workshop

Retention, Tenure, and Promotion

Tues, Apr 30, 12-1pm, MARK 201 Writing Your Reflective Narrative

Lecturer WPAF Series

May 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type

Thurs, May TBD,3:30-5pm, KEL 2413

NCHEA Board Meeting NCHEA
Fri, May 4, 3:00-5:30pm, USU Ballroom FMP Year End Celebration Faculty Mentoring Program
Tues, May 8,12-1pm, KEL 2414 Create a Mini-lesson with Qualtrics Tech Bites Lunch and Learn
Fri, May 11,1-2:30pm, KEL 2413 FCAC Meeting Advisory Committee
Fri, May 11,12:30-3pm, KEL 2413 What’s next?  Service in Your 2nd Year and Beyond - Lunch and Celebration New Faculty Institute

June 2018

Date(s)                                                 Event Name Event Type
Fri, June 29                                                   Professional Development Grants Final Report                            Professional Development Grants  

July 2018

Date(s) Event Name Event Type

Mon, July 9, 10:00am-3:00pm, KEL 2413

Serving Our Communities: Enhancing Learning Through Service Summer Teaching Institute                         

August 2018

Date(s)                                                 Event Name Event Type

Tues & Wed, August 21-22, TBD, KEL 2413

New Faculty Institute  NFI

Wed, August 22, 3:30p.m.-5:00pm, KEL 2400

Faculty Reception                                     

Fri, August 24, TBD, KEL 2413 

New Faculty Institute  NFI

Fri, August 24, 9:00am-12:30pm , KEL 1106 

New Lecturer Orientation