department menu

CSU Scholarships

About the Programs

Chancellor's Doctoral Incentive Program (CDIP) 

The Chancellor's Doctoral Incentive Program (CDIP) is a competitive program that provides loans to a limited number of full-time doctoral students at accredited universities across the United States. Its purpose is to increase the pool of individuals who show promise of becoming strong candidates for CSU instructional faculty positions by providing financial assistance to doctoral students with the motivation, skills, and experience needed to teach the diverse student body in the CSU. It is a competitive program open to doctoral students across the country.

Please read the CSU CDIP Eligibility page for important eligibility updates.

The Program provides loans of up to $10,000 per year and may borrow a maximum of $30,000 over a five-year period. Participants who successfully obtain a CSU faculty position will have twenty percent of the loan forgiven for each year of full-time postdoctoral teaching at a CSU campus. Part-time postdoctoral teaching in the CSU may also be considered for partial loan forgiveness.

Please see the Chancellor's Doctoral Incentive Program website for CSU system wide information.

California Pre-Doctoral Program

The California Pre-Doctoral Program is designed to increase the pool of potential faculty by supporting the doctoral aspirations of California State University (CSU) students who have experienced economic and educational disadvantages. The program places a special emphasis on increasing the number of CSU students who enter doctoral programs at one of the University of California (UC) institutions.

Please see Pre-Doc for CSU system wide details.

Contact the Campus Coordinator

Sara Baramy

CSUSM Office of Graduate Studies 
(760) 750-4066


Chancellor's Doctoral Incentive Program

The 2018-19 application has closed. Please check back for the 2019-20 application.

Pre-Doctoral Scholarship 

The 2018-2019 application has closed. Please check back for the 2019-20 application


2018-2019 Awardees

Connect with us

Facebook IconTwitter IconLinkedIn Icon

Google+ IconFlickr Icon