department menu

Sociology Faculty

Tenure Track Faculty

Matthew Atherton, Ph.D.

Kristin A. Bates, Ph.D.

Christopher Bickel, Ph.D.

Marisol Clark-Ibanez, Ph.D.

Sharon Elise, Ph.D. (Department Chair)

Karen Glover, Ph.D.

Alicia Gonzales, Ph.D.

Darlene L. Pina, Ph.D.

Robert E. L. Roberts, Ph.D.

Mary Robertson, Ph.D.

Cesar Rodriguez, Ph.D.

Garry Rolison, Ph.D.

Xuan Santos, Ph.D.

Adam Shapiro, Ph.D.

Theresa Suarez, Ph.D.

Richelle S. Swan, Ph.D. (MASP Coordinator)

Jill M. Weigt, Ph.D.

Emeritus Faculty

Therese Baker-Degler, Ph.D.

Linda Shaw, Ph.D.

Lecturer Faculty

For Office Hours/location, click link on right.

Professor Patricia Bonchek
pbonchek@csusm.edu

Professor Amber Colbert
acolbert@csusm.edu

Professor Sharon Cullity
scullity@csusm.edu

Professor Kimberly Dark
kdark@csusm.edu

Professor Janette Diaz
jdiaz@csusm.edu

Professor Michelle Fraser
mfraser@csusm.edu

Professor Donna Goyer
dgoyer@csusm.edu

Professor Chris Hardnack
chardnack@csusm.edu

Professor Kevin Kilpatrick
kkilpatr@csusm.edu

Professor Norma Larios               
nlarios@csusm.edu

Professor Susan Miller
smiller@csusm.edu

Professor Rita Naranjo
rnaranjo@csusm.edu

Professor Patty Oneal
poneal@csusm.edu

Professor Mary Jo Poole
mpoole@csusm.edu

Professor Mary Roche
mroche@csusm.edu

Professor Kathrine Rolison
krolison@csusm.edu

Professor Geneva Sanchez
gsanchez@csusm.edu

Professor John Schneider
jschneid@csusm.edu

Professor Kathy Shellhammer
kshellha@csusm.edu

Professor Ariana Steck              
asteck@csusm.edu

Professor Jonathan Trinidad

jtrinidad@csusm.edu

Professor Lori Walkington

 lwalking@csusm.edu

FACULTY ADVISORS

Meeting with a Faculty Advisor is not required, but, is encouraged, especially if you have questions about specific requirements, course selection, and careers. Faculty Advisors for all of our degree programs are assigned alphabetically, by last name. 

Click link below to view Faculty Advisor assignments and Office Hours. Please contact your assigned Faculty Advisor to set up an appointment. 

Office Hrs./Advisors

Lecturer Office Hrs.