Your  Account:

Election and Free Speech Campus Task Force

The Elections and Free Speech Taskforce is charged with supporting electoral engagement and the principles of free speech in our CSUSM community.

Specifically, the Taskforce develops and implements plans to proactively prepare the CSUSM community for the elections while promoting inclusive and constructive interactions throughout the election seasons.

This work may include:

• Strategies that support respectful discourse, promotion of voting and civic engagement, and preparation for post-election processing.

• Strategies to help keep our campus community safe during campaigning and election-related events and activities while also supporting student activism.

• Strategies to promote inclusive engagement.

• Strategies to advance the education of CSUSM and CSU policies and protocols around campaign engagement, free speech, voter registration, and supporting a healthy democracy.

The Taskforce will report on its efforts and accomplishments semesterly, to the Office of the President.

Task Force Membership

  • Jason Schreiber, AVP & Dean of Students (Co-Chair)
  • Elizabeth Matthews, Professor of Political Science & Civic Engagement Faculty Director (Co-Chair)
  • Char Booth, Associate Dean, University Library
  • Lori Brockett, AVP of Alumni Engagement & University Events
  • Karina Ramirez Gonzalez, ASI Student Rep (Appointed for 1-year term)
  • Jesse Flores, Chief of Police & AVP of Campus Safety-University Police Department Rep
  • Alicia Lores, Digital Communications Strategist, University Communications
  • Giselle Luevanos, Senior Director of Communications and Marketing, University Communications
  • Ibrahim Al Marashi, Associate Professor, History & Academic Senate Rep
  • Tony Pang, Director of Student Engagement & Leadership
  • Erica Perez, Director of Marketing & Communications, Student Affairs 
  • Kimber Quinney, Assistant Professor of History
  • TBD- Political Science Organization
  • TBD - Young Democrats Student Rep (Appointed for 1-year term) (not currently recognized in Spring 23)
  • TBD - CSUSM Republicans Student Rep (Appointed for 1-year term)
  • TBD - Government Relations Rep