department menu

Faculty Directory

Math Faculty

Wayne Aitken, Ph.D.
Professor
Harvard (1991)
Number Theory, Algebra, and Mathematical Logic
Craven Hall 6235

David Barsky, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Rutgers University (1987)
Probability Theory and Mathematical Physics
Craven Hall 6228

David Chien, Ph.D.
Professor
University of Iowa (1991)
Numerical Analysis
Craven Hall 6227

Ricardo Fierro, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Dean for CSM
UC San Diego (1992)
Numerical Analysis, Mathematics for K-8 Teachers
Craven Hall 6223

Olaf Hansen, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair
University of Mainz (1994)
Numerical Analysis
Craven Hall 6304
Olaf's office: 33° 7' 39.9504" N by 117° 9' 35.118" W

Linda Holt, Ph.D.
Professor
Rutgers (1991)
Partial Differential Equations
Craven Hall 6229

Badal Joshi, Ph.D. (On leave, 2018-19)
Assistant Professor and Math Club Advisor
Ohio State University (2009)
Mathematical Biology and Applied Probability
Craven Hall 6226

André Kündgen, Ph.D.
University of Illinois (1999)
Graph Theory
Craven Hall 6218

Michael Picollelli, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Carnegie Mellon University (2008)
Graph Theory and Combinatorics

Amber Puha, Ph.D.
Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
Women in STEM + Hypatians Coordinator
UCLA (1998)
Probability Theory and Stochastic Networks
Craven Hall 6130

Shahed Sharif, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
UC Berkeley (2006)
Number Theory and Arithmetic Geometry
Craven Hall 6233

Marshall Whittlesey, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Brown University (1997)
Complex Analysis
Craven Hall 6214

Faculty Emeritus

K. Brooks Reid, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus and Founding Faculty
University of Illinois (1968)
Graph Theory and Combinatorics
Craven Hall 6210

Lecturers

Joshua Botica (jbotica@csusm.edu)
Jennifer Brich (jbrich@csusm.edu)
James Brust (jbrust@csusm.edu)
Lixian Chen (lchen@csusm.edu)
Maddalena DiGiura (mdigiura@csusm.edu)
Mohamed El-Ansary (melansary@csusm.edu)
Karen Kinnison (kkinnison@csusm.edu)
Barry Lederman (blederman@csusm.edu)
Yuan-Lin Lee (yllee@csusm.edu)
Joshua Lovelace (lovelace@csusm.edu)
Serena Mercado (smercado@csusm.edu)
Juan Andres Noguez de la Cerda (jndlcerda@csusm.edu)
Eunjee Shin (eshin@csusm.edu)
Jonathon Singh (jsingh@csusm.edu)
Jason Swalwell (jswalwell@csusm.edu)
Gavin Swigart (gswigart@csusm.edu)
Bhavisha Talsania (talsania@csusm.edu)
Pamela Walton (pwalton@csusm.edu)
Randy Woodward (woodward@csusm.edu)
Heydar Zahedani (hzahed@csusm.edu)

Adjunct Office Locations

Craven Hall 6134
Craven Hall 6136
Craven Hall 6220
Social & Behavioral Sciences Building 2126
Social & Behavioral Sciences Building 2234