department menu

Sociology Faculty

Tenure Track Faculty

Mohamed Abumaye, Ph.D. (Internship Coordinator) 

Matthew Atherton, Ph.D.

Don Barrett, Ph.D. (Retired) 

Kristin A. Bates, Ph.D.

Christopher Bickel, Ph.D.

Marisol Clark-Ibanez, Ph.D. (Department Chair)

Sharon Elise, Ph.D. 

Karen S. Glover, Ph.D.

Alicia Gonzales, Ph.D.

Sheri-Lynn Kurisu, Ph.D.

Darlene L. Pina, Ph.D.

Robert E. L. Roberts, Ph.D.

Mary Robertson, Ph.D.

Xuan Santos, Ph.D.

Adam Shapiro, Ph.D.

Theresa Suarez, Ph.D.

Richelle S. Swan, Ph.D. (MASP Coordinator)

Lori Walkington, Ph. D

Jill M. Weigt, Ph.D.

Emeritus Faculty

Therese Baker-Degler, Ph.D.

Garry Rolison, Ph.D.

Linda Shaw, Ph.D.

Lecturer Faculty

For Office Hours/location, click link on right.
 

Professor Amber Colbert
acolbert@csusm.edu

Professor Sharon Cullity
scullity@csusm.edu

Professor Kimberly Dark
kdark@csusm.edu

Professor Janette Diaz
jdiaz@csusm.edu

Professor Michelle Fraser
mfraser@csusm.edu

Professor Donna Goyer
dgoyer@csusm.edu

Chris Hardnack, Ph.D.
chardnack@csusm.edu

Professor Charlene Holbrink-Monk 

cholkenbrink@csusm.edu 

Professor Kathryn Kinberg 

kkinberg@csusm.edu 

Professor Kevin Kilpatrick

kkilpatr@csusm.edu

Professor Norma Larios               
nlarios@csusm.edu

Professor Dawn Lee

dlee@csusm.edu 

Professor Martin Leyva

jleyva@csusm.edu 

Professor Brian Sanchez-Lopez 

blopez@csusm.edu 

Professor Susan Miller
smiller@csusm.edu

Professor Jonelle Myers McFarlane

jmyersmcfarl@csusm.edu

Professor Rita Naranjo
rnaranjo@csusm.edu

Professor Patty Oneal
poneal@csusm.edu

Professor Jose Plascencia-Castillo 

jplascencia@csusm.edu 

Professor Mary Jo Poole
mpoole@csusm.edu

Professor Samantha Prado 

sprado@csusm.edu 

Professor Mary Roche
mroche@csusm.edu

Professor Kathrine Rolison
krolison@csusm.edu

Professor Flor Saldana 

fsaldana@csusm.edu 

Professor Geneva Sanchez
gsanchez@csusm.edu

Professor John Schneider
jschneid@csusm.edu

Professor Bettina Serna 

bserna@csusm.edu 

Professor Kathy Shellhammer
kshellha@csusm.edu

Professor Jonathan Trinidad

jtrinidad@csusm.edu

Professor Burrel Vann

bvann@csusm.edu 

Professor Karen Villa

kvilla@csusm.edu 

 

FACULTY ADVISORS

Meeting with a Faculty Advisor is not required, but, is encouraged, especially if you have questions about specific requirements, course selection, and careers. Faculty Advisors for all of our degree programs are assigned alphabetically, by last name. 

Click link below to view Faculty Advisor assignments and Office Hours. Please contact your assigned Faculty Advisor to set up an appointment. 

Advisor Office Hours - Fall 2018

Lecturer Office Hours - Fall 2018