department menu

Sociology Faculty

Tenure Track Faculty

Mohamed Abumaye, Ph.D. (Internship Coordinator) 

Matthew Atherton, Ph.D.

Don Barrett, Ph.D. (Retired) 

Kristin A. Bates, Ph.D.

Christopher Bickel, Ph.D.

Marisol Clark-Ibanez, Ph.D.

Sharon Elise, Ph.D. (Department Chair)

Karen S. Glover, Ph.D.

Alicia Gonzales, Ph.D.

Darlene L. Pina, Ph.D.

Robert E. L. Roberts, Ph.D.

Mary Robertson, Ph.D.

Garry Rolison, Ph.D.

Xuan Santos, Ph.D.

Adam Shapiro, Ph.D.

Theresa Suarez, Ph.D.

Richelle S. Swan, Ph.D. (MASP Coordinator)

Jill M. Weigt, Ph.D.

Emeritus Faculty

Therese Baker-Degler, Ph.D.

Linda Shaw, Ph.D.

Lecturer Faculty

For Office Hours/location, click link on right.

Professor Amber Colbert

Professor Sharon Cullity

Professor Kimberly Dark

Professor Janette Diaz

Professor Michelle Fraser

Professor Donna Goyer

Professor Chris Hardnack

Professor Kevin Kilpatrick

Professor Norma Larios      

 Professor Susan Miller

Professor Jonelle Myers McFarlane

Professor Rita Naranjo

Professor Patty Oneal

Professor Mary Jo Poole

Professor Mary Roche

Professor Kathrine Rolison

Professor Geneva Sanchez

Professor John Schneider

Professor Kathy Shellhammer

Professor Jonathan Trinidad

Professor Karen Villa 

Professor Lori Walkington


Meeting with a Faculty Advisor is not required, but, is encouraged, especially if you have questions about specific requirements, course selection, and careers. Faculty Advisors for all of our degree programs are assigned alphabetically, by last name. 

Click link below to view Faculty Advisor assignments and Office Hours. Please contact your assigned Faculty Advisor to set up an appointment. 

Office Hrs./Advisors

Lecturer Office Hrs.