department menu

Faculty Advising Fall 2020

If you have questions about your major requirements, course selection, or careers related to Sociology, Criminology, or Social Justice we encourage you to speak with your faculty advisor - see your assigned professor below. 

You can access your major worksheet which is useful when meeting with your faculty advisor: Major & Minor Worksheets/Option Checklists

For general advising, including university/graduation requirements and General Education advising, please schedule a time to meet with a staff advisor in the Office of Academic Advising : Academic Advising.  

If you have any questions, contact the department's Administrative Coordinator.

Faculty Advisors for all of our degree programs are assigned alphabetically by last name. 

Advisor Email Student Last Name Office Hours Location
Mohamed Abumaye, Ph.D. mabumaye@csusm.edu V, W, X
SOC 347: TH 2:00- 3:00pm
SOC 465: W 5:00 - 6:00pm
Zoom
Zoom
Muna-Udbi Ali, Ph.D. mali@csusm.edu On Leave By Appointment Only Virtual
Matthew Atherton, Ph.D matherto@csusm.edu J, K By Appointment Only Virtual
Christopher Bickel, Ph.D. cbickel@csusm.edu M By Appointment Only Virtual
Marisol Clark-Ibáñez , Ph.D. mibanez@csusm.edu  Department Chair After Class or By Appointment Virtual
Sharon Elise, Ph.D. selise@csusm.edu S, U By Appointment Only Virtual
Karen Glover, Ph.D. kglover@csusm.edu B, Q W 10:30 - 11:30 am Zoom
Alicia Gonzales, Ph.D. amgonzal@csusm.edu G By Appointment Only Virtual
Sheri-Lynn Kurisu, Ph.D. skurisu@csusm.edu A, E By Appointment Only Zoom
Darlene Piña, Ph.D. dpina@csusm.edu H, T By Appointment Only Virtual
Robert E.L. Roberts, Ph.D. broberts@csusm.edu R, Z By Appointment Only Zoom
Xuan Santos, Ph.D. xsantos@csusm.edu  C T 9:00 - 11:00am Virtual
 Adam Shapiro, Ph.D. ashapiro@csusm.edu O, P
SOC 303: M 10:30 - 11:00am
SOC 427: By Appointment
Virtual
 Theresa Suarez, Ph.D. tsuarez@csusm.edu I, Y    By Appointment with 24 Hr Request Virtual
 Richelle Swan, Ph.D. rswan@csusm.edu  MASP Students
T 4:45 - 5:45pm; TH 7:30 - 8:30pm
and by appointment
Virtual
 Lori Walkington, Ph.D. lwalking@csusm.edu L, D By Appointment Only Virtual
Jill Weigt, Ph.D. jweigt@csusm.edu F, N By Appointment Only Virtual