Your  Account:

CHABSS Dean’s List and Dean's Awards

CHABSS Communications Team

Students receiving dean's list chord during graduationMaking the Dean’s List and staying on it is not easy. It is an accomplishment to be proud of, especially when the average student is balancing school, work, kids, partner, and a myriad of competing priorities.

To celebrate the exceptional commitment Dean’s Listers make to excelling in their studies, CHABSS hosts a number of Dean’s List Mixers during the academic year. 

To make the Dean’s List, students had to complete a minimum 12 units of graded CSUSM coursework and earn at least a 3.5 grade point average.

The Four CHABSS Dean’s Awards

CHABSS also acknowledges graduating students receiving one of the four CHABSS Dean’s Awards: the Dean’s Outstanding Student, Champion for Community Service, Champion for Inclusive Excellence, and Champion for Scholarship & Creative Works. A student does not have to be on the Dean’s List to be eligible for any of the four CHABSS Dean’s Awards.

The CHABSS Dean’s Outstanding Student award is the highest award granted to a student graduating with a BA from a CHABSS major. The winner of the CHABSS Outstanding Student award will go on to compete against the pool of students who have been awarded one of the University’s six Dean’s Awards for the title of CSUSM President’s Outstanding Graduate – the university's highest award bestowed to a graduating student. CHABSS' Outstanding Students from 2019 and 2021 went on to win the CSUSM President’s Outstanding Graduate Award - Connor Whitten in 2019, Kodie Gerritsen in 2021, and Krystal Alvarez Hernandez in 2022. 

The CHABSS Community Champion must show service contributing to the campus and/or the greater community. 

The Inclusive Excellence Champion must show efforts towards advancing the College’s commitment to diversity, equity, and social justice. 

The Scholarship & Creative Works Champion must have achievements in research and/or creative activities in their academic field. 

Read more about previous years' winners.