department menu

Department of Communication

We are one of the largest majors in the College of Humanities, Arts, Behavioral and Social Sciences (CHABSS). We offer two majors, one in Communication and another in Mass Media; we also offer minors in Communication and in Critical Intercultural Communication. 

The mission of the Communication Department recognizes the transformative power of communication and media and their role in how we think about and act in personal, organizational, cultural, social, and political life. Our scholarly and creative community embraces diverse theoretical perspectives, innovative pedagogy, and creative practices.   We support students’ development of critical and analytical abilities, proficiency with multiple levels of analysis of media, engagement with collaborative and dialogic relationships and connections with communities. We guide students to become culturally aware, astute, civic minded individuals able to understand and act upon structures of inequity, poised for success in their endeavors as community members, citizens and leaders in their chosen careers.


Dept Launches Social Media

The department is excited to announce the launching of our two new social media platforms: Facebook and Instagram!

Please like, follow, and spread the word of the new accounts to stay informed of all of the vibrant things happening within the department. As the fall events semester begin, both accounts will also be utilized to promote upcoming events, accomplishments of students and faculty, opportunities, and more. To submit requests, please email

Congratulations to the Class of 2017 Communication & Mass Media Majors!

Recent graduates, congratulations once again! In rememberance of the the department's Annual Graduation Celebration, see the video

Also, there’s one last thing to do before leaving CSUSM! Please take a moment and complete a very brief questionnaire that allows the Department and College to know what you’ll be up to.

The newest edition of COMMUniqué 4(4) is out!

The final spring issue of COMMUniqué 4(4) is published and available to read! This issue reports on many wonderful things occurring in the department, such as new and departing faculty, accomplishments by students and faculty, and much more!!

Internships for Fall 2017

NOW is a great time to think about a Fall Internship such as COMM 495 or MASS 495! To enroll in the COMM/MASS 495 course, please see the instructions provided on the following link: internships. To obtain a permission code you must first secure an internship and submit an online permission code request.

Dr. Matsumoto is available to answer additional questions.  Appointments will also be available on Wednesdays,  May 24th through July 19th from  2-5PM in SBSB 2210. Permission codes will NOT be distributed prior to completing an online form at: Permission Number Form. Contact Dr. Matsumoto at with any questions.

National Communication Association find that College Graduates with Communication Degrees "have the knowledge and skills employers need."