department menu

Advising Information

Reference Information

There are many sources of information about the Psychology Department at CSUSM. Most of the information needed to develop your program of studies is contained in CSUSM General Catalog and the Schedule of Classes. The Psychological Science Student Handbook has been developed to provide additional information.

Faculty Advising

If you have questions about specific degree requirements, course selection, or careers related to Psychology and Child and Adolescent Development, we encourage you to speak with any of the faculty listed below. In addition, once you declare Psychological Science or CHAD as your major, we strongly recommend that you meet with a faculty member for advising on major requirements and career and graduate school options.   

For questions pertaining to your major contact any of the faculty below: 

Tenure Track Faculty office hours for Fall 2020:
Faculty Member Office Email
Grant-Vallone, Elisa (Department Chair) M- 1:30-2:30pm, R- 11:00am-12:00pm, OBA  evallone@csusm.edu
Pulvers, Kim (CHAD Program Director) W- 1:00pm-2:30pm kpulvers@csusm.edu 
Berry, Daniel T- 10:00am-1:00pm drberry@csusm.edu
Caine, Nancy T- 10:30am-11:30am, R 11:30am -12:30pm ncaine@csusm.edu
Calvillo, Dustin M- 10:00am-11:00am & 1:00pm-2:00pm, T- 1:00pm-2:00pm dcalvill@csusm.edu
Carnes, Nathan R- 3:00pm-4:00pm ncarnes@csusm.edu
D'Anna-Hernandez, Kimberly  W- 10:30am-11:30am kdanna@csusm.edu
 DeLuca Bishop, Haylee M- 1:30pm-2:30pm, T- 9:00am-10:00am & 12:00pm-1:00pm  hdelucab@csusm.edu
Gonzalez, Gerardo T- 12:00pm-12:45pm & 2:30pm- 3:30pm, R- 12:00pm-12:45pm  ggonz@csusm.edu
Grabow, Aleksandria  M- 8:30am-11:30am agrabow@csusm.edu
 Hamill, Sharon By appointment  shamill@csusm.edu
Huynh, Alex W- 1:00pm-3:00pm, OBA hhuynh@csusm.edu
Jobin, Allison R- 12:00pm-2:00pm ajobin@csusm.edu
Kimel, Sasha R- 2:30pm-5:30pm skimel@csusm.edu
Mahler, Heike By appointment hmahler@csusm.edu
Phung, Janice T- 1:00pm-2:00pm, W- 1:00pm-2:00pm, R- 1:00pm-2:00pm jphung@csusm.edu
Schustack, Miriam By appointment mschusta@csusm.edu
Trujillo, Keith By appointment keith@csusm.edu
Vanderbilt, Kimberly T- 1:00pm-3:00pm  kvanderbilt@csusm.edu
Williams, Carrick T- 2:30pm-3:30pm, W- 2:30pm-3:30pm cawilliams@csusm.edu

Course Approvals

Do you want to take a course through CSU Online or at another university? You MUST receive approval BEFORE you take a MAJORS course. Even if a course has a similar/same name, it does not mean it includes the same content or meets our PSYC or CHAD department course requirements.  Our designated faculty advisors for PSYC majors (and minors) are Dr. Haylee De Luca Bishop and Dr. Gerardo Gonzalez. You MUST send a course description and syllabus and receive approval before taking a majors course off campus or online but we do NOT need to approve GE or non-majors courses. This is true for all CSU online courses.

The faculty members below can evaluate courses you have taken at other institutions to determine if they can be transferred to the Psychology or CHAD major at CSUSM and can answer general advising questions.

Note: Faculty approval is required for all courses except for PSYC 100, 220 and 230 and PSYC 210 and 215 if they are specifically articulated with a community college. See www.assist.org

College of Humanities, Arts, Behavioral and Social Sciences (CHABSS) Advising

 

CSUSM also provides comprehensive academic advising to all admitted undergraduate students regarding major and minor programs, general degree requirement information, schedule verification or issues, registration questions, academic policies and procedures, probation regulations, and reinstatement. Students are strongly encouraged to make an appointment with counselors to help them navigate the General Education requirements and information about their major. Appointments to see an advisor can be made via the Academic Advising website.  

Psychological science and CHAD majors can meet with a psychology department undergraduate advisor:

 

Benita Ramirez, MS
Office: Craven Hall 1300

Silvia Grover
Office: Craven Hall 1300
 

Questions about non-psychology aspects of your educational program will probably require referral to other advisors. Undergraduate Advising Services are located on the 1st floor of Craven Hall.

Applying for Graduation

Graduation is not automatic upon the completion of requirements. Students who intend to graduate must take the initiative. Upon completion of 85 units, the student is eligible to file an application for graduation with Enrollment Services. The Class Schedule each semester specifies the filing date, which is well in advance of the expected graduation date.

Your application for graduation will result in notification to the Psychology Department.

Career Counseling

The Career Center offers a variety of services to assist students in choosing educational paths, assessing life direction and establishing career goals. Some of the services include:

  • Personal career counseling
  • Workshops, seminars and professional panels
  • Career library resources
  • Graduate school information
  • Job and career position listings      

Career Center contact info:
Phone: 760-750-4900 (Career Center Office)
careers@csusm.edu
Office: Craven Hall 1400-D

In addition, Psychology faculty have further information on careers in psychology, including a booklet published by the American Psychological Association entitled Careers in Psychology.

4-Year Roadmaps

4-Year Roadmaps is a useful tool for Freshman and Sophomore level CSUSM students who are just beginning their academic studies. Information entered into the program will produce a "roadmap" of the first two years of courses that should be taken.