department menu

Workshops

Workshops

At SHCS, we have FREE 50 minutes workshops available for students to learn more about specific topics or develop skills relating to mental health. We offer the following workshops below.  Download a PDF copy of all our Group Therapy handout and workshops.  

Getting Unstuck | Recognition, Insight, & Openess (RIO) | Seeking Serenity | Social Anxiety Toolbox | Taming the Anxious Mind (TAM) 

If you are interested in a workshop, please sign up using our form here. 

Getting Unstuck

A 3-session workshop intended to help students’ increase their understanding and knowledge about depression.  This workshop will also provide attendees with life-long tools to use while facing depressive symptoms. 

  • Who: Katie Rhodes, M.A. or  Eva Kram, MMFT
  • When: Thursdays @ 12:00 pm or  Fridays @ 2:30 pm 
  • Contact:  Katie Rhodes, M.A. at krhodes@csusm.edu  or  Eva Kram, MMFT at ekram@csusm.edu 

Recognition, Insight and Openess (RIO)

This 3-session workshop focuses on skill development and learning to respond to distress in a flexible way. The workshop help attendees 1) gain a deeper understanding of their concerns, 2) create flexibility in how they view and approach distressful situations, and 3) help them take steps toward living with a wide range of emotions.

Seeking Serenity

This 3-week workshop will help participants understand their emotional experience. Skills in distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and mindfulness will be taught and participants will learn ways to manage their overwhelming emotional experiences.

  • Who: Alicia Hefley, M.A. and Dr. Lissa Lim
  • When:  Tuesdays @ 12:00 pm  or  Fridays @ 10:30 am 
  • Contact: Alicia Hefley, M.A. at ahefley@csusme.du and Dr. Lissa Lim at llim@csusm.edu 

Social Anxiety Toolbox

This weekly workshop will help provide participants with a better understanding of social anxiety. It will also teach skills to manage it, including cognitive, behavioral, and mindful self-compassion approaches.

  • Who: Ryan Stevenson, Ph.D.
  • When: Thursdays @ 2:00 pm 
  • Contact:  Dr. Ryan Stevenson at rstevenson@csusm.edu 

Taming the Anxious Mind (TAM)

This 3-week workshop will provide participants a better understanding of their anxious mind. Participants will learn effective ways to calm the body, calm the mind, and to create a stress-tolerant lifestyle.

  • WhoAutumn Lewis, M.A. or Christa Wencl, M.S
  • When: Mondays @ 2:00 pm   or   Tuesdays @ 10:00 am 
  • Contact:  Autumn Lewis, M.A. at alewis@csusm.edu or Christa Wencl, M.S. at cwencl@csusm.edu