Your  Account:

Native Advisory Council

The Native Advisory Council advises the President on University relations with Native American communities, articulates the educational needs of the local California reservations and surrounding Indian communities to the University, fosters collaboration between the University and the Native American community to achieve mutual goals, and promotes and supports academic and professional access and success of Native American students and employees at Cal State San Marcos.

The President’s Native Advisory Council is comprised of representatives from most neighboring tribes and tribal education leaders, this first-in-the-CSU advisory council advises the President on University relations with the regional Native American communities and articulates the educational needs of local tribal nations to the University.

Tribal Engagement Initiatives

Advisory Council Members

  • Bonnie Biggs, Tribal Liaison Emeritus
  • Olivia Chilcote, San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians, San Diego State University
  • Patricia Dixon, Palomar College
  • Lynda Estrella, Walking Shield
  • Theresa Gregor, CSU Long Beach
  • Geneva Lofton-Fitzsimmons, CA Native American Research Center for Health
  • Councilman Reid Milanovich, Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians
  • Rebecca Munoa, CSUSM Alumna
  • Lorraine Orosco, San Pasqual Band of Diegueno Indians
  • Councilman James Siva, Morongo Band of Mission Indians
  • Hunwut Turner, Rincon Band of Luiseño Indians
  • Karlene Vernaci-Clifford, La Jolla Band of Luiseño Indians

CSUSM Members:

  • Dawn Formo, Dean, Undergraduate Studies
  • Patricia Prado-Olmos, Vice President, Community Engagement
  • Joely Proudfit, Director, California Indian Culture & Sovereignty Center & Professor, American Indian Studies
  • Tishmall Turner, Tribal Liaison