department menu

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who must participate in the Early Start Program?

    Math:
    -Students that are considered Ready with Support, Early Start Required must participate in Early Start.
    -Students that are considered Ready with Support are recommended to participate in Early Start.

    English: 
    -Students that are considered Ready with Support, Early Start Required must participate in Early Start.
    -Students that are considered Ready with Support are recommended to participate in Early Start.

    Exemptions - The following students will NOT be required to participate in Early Start:

    • International students and residents of other states
    • Students participating in the EOP Summer Bridge Program or CAMP
    • Students may appeal if circumstances beyond their control prevent participation. Appeals should be submitted in writing with any supporting documentation. For more information contact our Early Start Coordinator. 
  • When does Early Start begin?

    Early Start courses at CSUSM are scheduled within the seven-week period of Monday, June 18, 2018- Friday, August 3, 2018.
  • How do I register for Early Start?

    Before you enroll in Early Start classes, you must first complete your Smart Page.  The Smart Page indicates which CSU campus you have chosen to participate in Early Start. CSUSM students have their Smart Page defaulted to CSUSM. You will only need to change your Smart Page if you plan on taking Early Start course(s) at another CSU campus. If you need help with your Smart Page you can find the instructions for completing your Smart Page here.

    Your  chosen Early Start campus will email you in 3-5 business days with instructions on how to register for Early Start course(s) at their campus. 
  • How much does Early Start cost?

    Early Start Programs offered at any of the CSU campuses will be $182 per unit plus a $2 one-time fee. 

    • The fee does not include course materials and parking fees.
    • California residents who apply for financial aid or the California Dream Act and have an Estimated Family Contribution of $5,000 or less will be eligible for a waiver of the per unit fee.  The fee waiver does not cover parking and course instruction materials.
  • When do I need to pay my Early Start course(s)?

    If you did not qualify for a fee waiver, you must pay your fees by the first day of class.  This can be done online at your MyCSUSM portal or at the Cashier’s Office in Cougar Central. 
  • Can I Early Start at another campus?

    Yes!

    You will need to change your Smart Page to indicate which CSU campus you plan to enroll in Early Start course(s).  You will need to log on to MyCSUSM portal to change your Smart Page. If you need help with your Smart Page you can find the instructions for completing your Smart Page here.

    Your Early Start campus will email you in 3-5 business days with instructions on how to register for Early Start course(s) on their campus.

    You must submit your Smart Page changes by June 14, 2018. 

  • Can I take Early Start courses at a community college?

    Yes!

    Some community colleges will require you to take their placement exams and  you must place into transferable college-level math or English.  Visit your community college of your choice for more information. 
  • I have summer plans that conflict with Early Start, what are my options?

    The CSU has many options.  You can choose from all of the Early Start programs throughout the CSU, you should be able to find one that fits your needs and circumstances.  Learn about Early Start courses available at CSUs 
  • What if I don’t attend Early Start?

    If you do not complete your Early Start Program requirements in the summer, you will not be able to register for fall classes and/or your fall classes will be dropped.
  • What happens after I have completed the Early Start Course?

    You will receive a grade for the Early Start course you have completed. An earned grade of "NC" indicates that you have not fulfilled your Early Start requirement.

     

  • How do I transfer my Early Start grade from another campus?

    Your Early Start your grade(s) will be sent to CSUSM automatically once you have completed the course(s).
  • When can I register for my fall courses?

    You will be able to register for fall courses during orientation.
  • What math courses are CSU approved to exempt me from Early Start if I am conditionally exe

    If you are conditionally exempt from Early Start for math, you can meet the requirement by taking an approved  year-long math course in your senior year and earning a grade of "C-" or better. The following high school courses have been approved:

    • Trigonometry and Math Analysis
    • Pre-Calculus
    • Calculus
    • AP Calculus AB
    • AP Calculus BC
    • AP Statistics
    • AP Physics

    Other year-long courses have been approved under certain circumstances:

    • Any other year-long high school math course with Algebra 2 or Integrated Math III as a prerequisite is approved

    High School Course for Conditionally Ready Students 

  • What English courses are CSU approved to exempt me from Early Start if I am conditionally

    If you are conditionally exempt from Early Start for English, you can meet the requirement by taking an approved year-long English course in your senior year and getting a grade of "C-" or better. The following high school courses have been approved:

    • Expository Reading and Writing Course (ERWC) - Adopted as a full year course in the 12th grade being taught by a certified instructor.
    • International Baccalaureate (IB) English
    • Advanced Placement—Language and Composition or Literature and Composition
    • English course approved for extra honors weight on the University of California "a-g" Doorways course list

    Standard Met: Conditionally Ready for CSU or Participating CCC College-Level English Courses 

     

  • What does “non-compliance with Early Start” mean?

    There are a couple of ways to become non-compliant:

    • You needed to participate in Early Start and did not register to participate in the course(s) you needed
    • You participated in a course and earned a grade of “NC” (No Credit).

    Being non-compliant for Early Start will prevent you from registering in the fall semester. If you are already enrolled you will be dis-enrolled and your courses will be dropped.


Additional Questions?

Contact us at (760) 750-6060 or EarlyStart@csusm.edu