Your  Account:

Faculty Awards - Brakebill and Wang

The Academic Senate Office oversees the nomination processes for two very prestigious faculty award opportunities: The Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Award, and The Wang Family Excellence Award. Campus selection processes for the two awards are facilitated by the Faculty Awards Selection Committee each year, with decisions for CSUSM selection finalized by the campus' President. (While the Brakebill Award is a CSUSM award, our campus may forward up to four campus nominations for consideration in the statewide Wang Award selection process each year.)

The Faculty Awards Selection Committee continues its work in facilitating the processes for these awards in the Fall 22 semester. The committee will be chaired by 21/22 Brakebill award recipient Dr. Veronica Anover. A historical listing of all of the previous and current Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Awardees is found at this link. Additionally, a historical listing of the CSU's Wang Family Excellence Awardees is found at this link.

Questions?  Contact  the Senate Office via email: 

Award Information
AWARD: Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Award

Wang Family Excellence Award
(The CSUSM President  will forward the names and dossiers of up to four nominees to the Chancellor's Office for consideration for awards in any of four areas:  Teaching; Scholarship; Service; Innovation in  Student Success.)

Who may be nominated? CSUSM instructional Faculty and Librarians (Lecturer and tenure-track) who have been employed at CSUSM for at least five years. All Tenure Track faculty.
Who may send letter of nomination? CSUSM Colleagues, students, alumni, and/or staff*. CSUSM faculty, academic administrators, alumni, and/or students*.
What skills should the nominee possess and have evidenced? An exceptional Faculty member who demonstrates excellence in Teaching, Research, Creative Scholarship and Service to the campus and the community.* An exceptional Faculty member whose dossier demonstrates superior accomplishments and contributions to the discipline or achievements in an assignment in the respective award area*.
Nomination Deadline: 5:00 PM, Friday, May 13, 2022 5:00 PM, Friday, May 13, 2022

*Please see award flier and related policy for more information.

Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Award - Flier
Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Award - Policy

Wang Family Execellence Award - Flier
Wang Family Excellence Award - Policy