department menu

Annual Student Media Festival

Festival Date: Friday May 14th, 2021 at 6pm

 Click Here for the Mediafest 2021 Entry Form

This show must go on! Due to the COVID-19 outbreak and restrictions, this event will be held online to ensure the safety of others while still celebrating the work of CSUSM students.

2021 CSUSM Student Media Fest will be streamed live online here Friday, May 14th, 2021 at 6pm.
Celebrate student creativity with us – watch the films, meet the student filmmakers, be part of the awards.
Films will be posted after the event at our Vimeo channel and here on YouTube.
After the event, you vote for your favorite film which will get the coveted Audience Award. 


Awards and prizes compete in categories which may include:

  • Best New Voice/ Deans Award
  • Best Social Justice Project
  • Best Fiction Narrative
  • Best Documentary
  • Best Experimental Film
  • Best Editing
  • Best Sound Design
  • Best Interactive Media
  • Audience Award
  • Interactive Media
mediafest flyer

Over the years, the  Media Festival has received support from the School of Arts, the CHABBS Dean's Office, IITS, the Communication Department, Film Studies, the History Department, Literature and Writing, the Instructionally Related Activities Fund, the Media Makers Program, and Mr. Taco 2.