Your  Account:

Kerri Mowen Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award

The Kerri Mowen Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Faculty Mentor Award honors individuals who, during their time at California State University San Marcos, have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in increasing the participation of undergraduate students in research and creative activities above and beyond the classroom. The award recognizes faculty (including lecturers) who have mentored and guided a considerable number of students in research or creative activities, and/or faculty who have impacted the environment of the department, college, or university to significantly increase the number and diversity of students engaged in research and creative activities.

Congratulations to the 2023 Award Recipient!

Dr. Alex Huynh


Left to right:  De Leone, Kemnitz, Huynh (Winner), Oling-Sisay

The 2023 Awardee was announced during the Student Poster Showcase on November 28, 2023.

Past Kerri Mowen Award Recipients:

  • 2023-2024
    • Alex Huynh, PhD


  • 2022-2023
    • Elinne Becket, PhD
    • Marisol Clark-Ibañez, PhD

    award winners
    Left to right:  De Leone, Oling-Sisay, Becket (Winner), Kemnitz, Clark-Ibañez (Winner)

  • 2021-2022
    • Deanna Schmidt, PhD
    • Christina Simokat, MA
  • 2020-2021
    Richard Armenta, PhD
  • 2019-2020
    Arun Sethuraman, PhD
  • 2018-2019
    • Lucy HG Solomon, MFA
    • Robert Iafe, PhD
  • 2017-2018
    Kim Pulvers, PhD, MPH
  • 2016-2017
    Kimberly D’Anna-Hernandez, PhD


Nomination Process

Know someone who provides extraordinary guidance, support, and inspiration mentoring undergraduates in research and/or scholarly activities? Nominate them for The Kerri Mowen Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award. This award recognizes faculty who actively engage undergraduates in research experiences/scholarly activities, consistently provide opportunities to promote student success, and offer unbridled support and assistance on admission and matriculation to graduate programs, or in securing a professional career.

2023 Kerri Mowen Flyer

Thank you for submitting, we are no longer accepting nominations.