department menu

Departments & Degrees

The College of Science and Mathematics offers seven bachelor of science degrees (several with multiple tracks) and four master of science degree programs. The College is organized into five departments with over 100 tenure-track and lecturer faculty. CSM also contributes broadly to the general education of CSUSM's student body.

Biological Sciences

  • B.S. Biological Sciences
  • M.S. Biological Sciences
  • Minor in Biological Sciences


  • B.S. Biotechnology
  • Professional Science Masters in Biotechnology

Chemistry & Biochemistry

  • B.S. Chemistry
  • B.S. Biochemistry
  • B.S. Chemistry Education Option
  • M.S. Chemistry (Fall 2018)

Computer Science and Information Systems

  • B.S. Computer Science
  • B.S. Option in Computer Information Systems
  • M.S. Computer Science


  • B.S. Software Engineering 
  • B.S. Electrical Engineering (Fall 2019, pending approval from the Chancellor's Office)


  • B.S. Mathematics
  • M.S. Mathematics
  • Minor in Mathematics


  • B.S. Applied Physics
  • Minor in Applied Physics