Your  Account:

CSTEM Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a volunteer board to the leadership of the College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics, offering guidance to help the college best serve the region and the state; providing contacts with business, government and the community to advance the mission of CSTEM; and acting as an advocate on behalf of CSTEM and CSUSM. The Council also provides leadership in fundraising and development in support of CSTEM’s mission and initiatives. Members of the Council include industry professionals representing life sciences, chemistry, aerospace, electronics and information systems, as well as CSUSM faculty, alumni and parents.

The Council meets four times annually to discuss workforce trends, opportunities and initiatives. By contributing their collective knowledge, vision, experience and resources, the Council serves as ambassadors on behalf of the College, while helping CSTEM to establish priorities and chart its successful course for the future.

CSTEM Advisory Council Members

David Allen
David A. Allen
Director, Systems Engineering
Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

Julie Ames
Julie Ames
Vice President, Corporate Communications
photo of Paul Baca
Paul Baca
Vice  President, Engineering

joe bear

Joe Bear
Retired, Engineer
Hughes - JVC Technology Corporation

Photo of Maureen Booth

Maureen (Mo) Booth
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Women's Employee Group Lead
ThermoFisher Scientific

rashmi char

Rashmi Char
Vice President, Engineering
Qualcomm, Inc.

photo of James Cruz
James Cruz
Blue Shield California

Merrilyn Datta
Vice President of Business Operations

rick fierro

Rick Fierro (Ex Officio)
Associate Dean, College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
California State University San Marcos

Aaron Guy

Aaron Guy
Associate Dean of Programming, Extended Learning
California State University San Marcos

photo of Mike Hele

Michael Helé
Director of Philathropy
California State University San Marcos

Natalie Hosea
Natalie Hosea
Takeda California and DMPK Site Head

photo of Paul Jackson

Paul Jackson
Scientific Director of Global Public Health
Johnson and Johnson Pharmaceuticals

Dr. Wm. Randy Jungman
Citracado Dental Group

Avinash Karnik

Avinash Karnik
Retired, Electrical Engineer, Research Manager

 Photo of Cait Kelly
Cait Kelly
Community Engagement Director

Mike Lafferty

Mike Lafferty
Vice PresidentResearch and Development
Thermo Fisher Scientific

Photo of Chris Marion
Chris Marion

Senior Director, Marketing & Applications Technology
Nordson ASYMTEK Products

Chad Nelley

Chad Nelley
Executive Vice President of Operations


Dr. Ajay Nirula

Ajay Nirula, MD, Ph.D.
Vice President, Immunology
Lilly Research Laboratories/Lilly Biotechnology Center


Brooks Reid

K. Brooks Reid
Professor Emeritus, Mathematics
California State University San Marcos

Mark Rodriguez
Staff Engineer
General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Inc

Paul Sangster

Paul Sangster
Rip Current Brewing Company
Retired Software Engineer

Steve Schlesinger

Steve Schlesinger
Retired Software Engineer, Performance Analyst

Vanessa Small
Vanessa Small
Director of Biologics
Cue Health

Sandra Thompson
Sandra Thompson
Finlayson Toffer Roosevelt Lilly LLP
Photo of Jackie Trischman

Jackie Trischman
Interim Dean, College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
Professor, Chemistry/Biochemistry
California State University San Marcos

Uphemeia Uhegbu

Euphemia Uhegbu
Manager, Clinical Prior Authorization

Alex Waters
Alex Waters
Director, CONNECT ALL @ the Jacobs Center

David Webb

David Webb
CEO, Synbal, Inc.
Adjunct Professor
Department of Integrative Structural and Computational Biology
The Scripps Research Institute

Peter Woytowitz

Peter Woytowitz
Director of Electrical Engineering
Hunter Industries

 Photo of Rika Yoshii

Rika Yoshii, Ph.D.
Governance and Planning Committee Chair
Professor, Computer Science and Information Systems
Calidornia State University San Marcos