Your  Account:

The Accreditation Process

The AACSB Accreditation (AA) Team

In Fall 2017, a team of faculty, along with the Associate Dean, the Assessment Coordinator, and Assessment Specialist, began reviewing and planning for initial accreditation. The team consisted of:

The Timeline

2017 - 2019

Pre 2017

Spring 2017

Fall 2017

Spring 2018

Fall 2018

Spring 2019

Fall 2019

Prep work

Revise iSER

Submit iSER to IAC

Revise iSER as requested by IAC

Submit iSER revisions to IAC; request initial visit/review

Initial visit/review approved
Propose Review Team Chair & members

Review Team Approved; Date for initial visit/review set

 2020 - 2021

Spring 2020

Fall 2020

Spring 2021

Began work on SER

Submited SER to Chair of review team

Peer Review Team visited the campus and sent recommendation to the board for ratification.


The AACSB Standards

 AACSB’s business standards have continued to be revised to ensure quality and continuous improvement in collegiate business education throughout the years. The last major revision occurred in 2013 after more than two years of study and collaboration with the global business education community and employer organizations.

The 15 standards are organized into four categories: strategic management and innovation; participants—students, faculty, and professional staff; learning and teaching; and academic and professional engagement. The standards are built around the three themes of engagement, innovation, and impact. These themes are integrated throughout the standards to challenge and assist schools in striving for continuous quality improvement.


The Assurance of Learning AoL Team

Assurance of Learning (AoL) is a process CoBA uses to determine how well stated program learning expectations are being met through a variety of assessment activities. AoL is scheduled around program student learning outcomes (PSLOs) which state what a student will be able to do upon completion of a program. CoBA has nine undergraduate PSLOs and nine graduate PSLOs (same PSLOs for FEMBA and SMBA).

Of particular importance is the use of the results to inform our program—a key part of “closing the loop.” When results indicate students are not meeting expectations, we make a change in the curriculum, reassess, and note how the change affected the outcome. AoL is a sustained process by which we continually strive to improve and advance our programs.

 Learn how you can support the accreditation process!