Your  Account:

About Us

IT Governance

Technology at CSUSM is led by the Dean and Chief Information Officer (CIO). IITS looks for ways to continuously improve systems and processes to advance the university priorities and drive campus technology strategic initiatives. IITS collaborates with departments across campus to understand their needs and priorities. The Portfolio Management site lists technology projects approved to proceed to implementation.To propose a new project email

Our campus-wide perspective allows us to maximize resources that are sometimes scarce or reuse solutions already in place.The Information Technology Review process is available to assist with technology decisions and it is part of CSUSM's commitment to making the resources and tools on campus accessible, secure and compatible with our IT infrastructure.

The Information Management Steering Committee (IMSC) is the governance committee which advises the President and Executive Council on matters of information management, information systems and technology including selection, funding, development, deployment, management, assessment and effective use of technology. The committee is comprised of all vice presidents and the President (or designee). This committee meets once per month to review and approve high level IT policies and set priorities based upon the IT Strategic Plan.

CSUSM also has the Technology Policy Advisory Committee (TPAC)TPAC is a subcommittee of the Academic Senate and provides input from faculty (from all colleges) and students. Similar to IMSC, TPAC is briefed on IT initiatives and provides input, especially in the areas of academic technology.

Information Management Steering Committee (IMSC) Members:

  • Ranjeeta Basu, Interim Provost & Vice President, Academic Affairs
  • Cathy Baur, Vice President, University Advancement
  • Lorena Checa, Vice President, Student Affairs
  • Neal Hoss, Vice President, Finance & Administrative Services
  • Patricia Prado-Olmos, Vice President, Community Engagement
  • Sarah R. Villarreal, Associate Vice President, Office of the President
  • Kevin Morningstar, Dean and Chief Information Officer, IITS
  • Diane Petersen, Associate Dean/CIO, IITS
  • John Humes, Acting Information Security Officer, IITS